Saturday, February 28, 2009

Marcel-Robert Trophy finalists

Press Release

BOUCHERVILLE, Tuesday, February 24, 2009 – The five Marcel-Robert Trophy finalists were chosen this week by a League-mandated committee comprised of Valérie Monette, the Coordinator of the Bursaries Program, Robert Baker, the QMJHL Academic Consultant, Pierre Leduc, the Director of Hockey Operations, and Guy Darveau, the President of the Marcel-Robert Committee. The Marcel-Robert Trophy is awarded each year to the TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year at the Golden Puck Awards Gala in April.

In the last few weeks, each team had submitted their prized candidate who was rewarded with a $400 bursary. Today’s finalists will receive an additional $400 grant.

To determine the winner, each remaining candidate will take part in an interview process, which will measure their analytical skills and their understanding of current events. Their overall performance during the interview will also play a key role.

The interviews will be held in Montreal, on Monday, March 2 and will be conducted by the members of the Marcel-Robert Committee. The members of the Committee are: Guy Darveau, Natasha Llorens, the Anti-Doping Program Coordinator, Éric L’Italien, a former player and Marcel-Robert Trophy winner, Sébastien Fyfe of Alliance Sport-Études, and Willy Palov of the Chronicle Herald.

The TELUS Scholastic Player of the Year will be awarded the Trophy as well as an additional $500 bursary.

The five finalists are:

Baie-Comeau Drakkar – Guillaume Goulet
Chicoutimi Saguenéens – Dominic Jalbert
Drummondville Voltigeurs – Dany Massé
Saint John Sea Dogs – Payton Liske
Shawinigan Cataractes – Pierre-Alexandre Vandall

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: