Sunday, February 6, 2011


Press Release

The Humboldt Broncos hockey club and the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League have announced the three players that will represent the team in year-end awards at the end of the season. The announcement of what players have been nominated by the team was made today as the SJHL’s President Tour presented by Source Embroidery-Yorkton made a stop in Humboldt. The President’s Tour is a chance to promote the upcoming SJHL playoffs and to show off the Credit Union Cup and the SJHL Sask-Tel Showcase of Awards.


Most Outstanding Player – Taylor Johnson

The most consistent player on the team from the start of the season, the 1991 born Humboldt forward was recently named the captain. The reason for that is the work ethic he brings to the room whether it be a practice or a game.

Most Outstanding Defenceman – Josh Roach

The 1992 born defenceman from Saskatoon just gets better and better with each shift. He leads the team in scoring and will be one of the players Dean Brockman will be counting on next season when the Broncos serve as the host team for the 2012 RBC Cup.

Top Rookie – Adam Zbitniff

The 1992 born forward from Saskatoon has made quite the impression on the Broncos in his first year. He will also be seen as a key player when the team tries to capture the RBC Cup on home ice next year. Zbitniff can usually be found checking the other team’s first center and he usually does a good job of helping neutralize the other team’s top line.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: