Saturday, February 12, 2011

The RBC Play Hockey Project Presents the AJHL Award Finalists

Press Release

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with The RBC Play Hockey Project, today announced the finalists for the 2010-2011 AJHL League Awards. Two finalists from each division were selected by the League General Managers and Coaches.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists for 2010-2011 are as follows:

Most Valuable Player - Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

* Julien Laplante - Bonnyville Pontiacs
* Tanner Fritz - Grande Prairie Storm
* Cole Cheveldave - Drumheller Dragons
* Kyle Reynolds - Okotoks Oilers

Outstanding Defenceman - W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy

* Brock Maschmeyer - Fort McMurray Oil Barons
* Felix-Antoine Poulin - Spruce Grove Saints
* Colten Hayes - Okotoks Oilers
* Corbin Karl - Olds Grizzlys

Rookie of the Year - Dick White Trophy

* Ty Carey - Bonnyville Pontiacs
* Sammy Spurrell - Spruce Grove Saints
* Sam Jardine - Camrose Kodiaks
* Cole Cheveldave - Drumheller Dragons

Most Dedicated Player - Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

* Kevin Carthy - Bonnyville Pontiacs
* Adam Johnson - Fort McMurray Oil Barons
* Tyler Horton - Canmore Eagles
* Evan Warner - Drumheller Dragons

Top Goaltender - Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

* Julien Laplante - Bonnyville Pontiacs
* Vincenzo Marozzi - Spruce Grove Saints
* Jan Obernesser - Brooks Bandits
* Cole Cheveldave - Drumheller Dragons

Coach of the Year

* Chad Mercier - Bonnyville Pontiacs
* Gord Thibodeau - Fort McMurray Oil Barons
* James Poole - Okotoks Oilers
* Kevin Willison - Olds Grizzlys

The award winners for each of the categories listed above will be determined through voting by the AJHL General Managers and Coaches. The award winners will be announced immediately following the completion of the
2010-2011 AJHL Regular Season.

The following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2010-2011 AJHL Regular Season.

* Scoring Champion - Ernie Love Trophy
* Top Team Goaltenders - Reebok / CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
* Stewy Stewart Memorial - Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: