Thursday, April 14, 2011

Spitfires' Derek Lanoue Named Top Academic University Player of the Year

Press Release

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Derek Lanoue of the Windsor Spitfires is a back-to-back recipient of the Roger Neilson Memorial Award presented to the Top Academic Player in College or University for the 2010-11 season.

Lanoue, a 20-year-old from Belle River, ON, wins the award for the second straight year as a student attending the University of Windsor. With a six-course load, he maintains an overall academic average of 85.5% which includes marks of 91% in Intro to Economics I, 90% in Statistics for the Sciences, 85% in Linear Algebra, 83% in Intro to Organic Chemistry, 82% in Intro to Inorganic Chemistry, and an 82% in Intro to Economics II. Lanoue is the second player to win the Roger Neilson Memorial Award in back-to-back seasons following goaltender Danny Battochio of the Ottawa 67’s who won the award in the 2005 and 2006 seasons.

“We’re very proud of Derek, to see him win the Roger Neilson Memorial Award for the second consecutive year is truly amazing,” said Spitfires Vic-President and General Manager Warren Rychel. “Derek works extremely hard on and off the ice and his dedication to excellence will serve him well in his future endeavours. His commitment to being the best he can be in all aspects of life makes him a very deserving recipient of this honour.”

On the ice, Lanoue played 55 games for the defending OHL and Memorial Cup champions collecting six goals and 11 assists for 17 points.

“Derek has continued his success this past season while earning more ice time as a veteran player,” said Spitfires Academic Advisor John Laporte. “Thanks to the league’s education policy, he is well on his way to earning his degree in Chemistry maintaining a better than A-average.”

The Roger Neilson Memorial Award is named in honour of the Hall of Fame Coach who served behind the Peterborough Petes bench in the late 1960's and early 1970's. Neilson, a former high school teacher, was a pioneer in stressing the importance of education to all of his players.

Former winners also include current CIS athletes Scott Aarssen of the University of Western Ontario Mustangs (London 2007-08), and Tim Priamo of the University of Guelph Gryphons (Guelph 2008-09).

Nathan Chiarlitti of the Sarnia Sting was the runner-up for the award, with the Oshawa Generals’ Anton Zupancic finishing in third place.

Lanoue will be formally presented with his award at the annual OHL Awards Ceremony June 8 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

2010-11 Roger Neilson Memorial Award Nominees:

Barrie – Chris Buonamo (Laurentian University)

Belleville – Braden Corbeth (Queen’s University)

Brampton – Cody St. Jacques (University of Guelph)*

Erie – Mike Cazzola (Mercyhurst College)

Guelph – Kyle Pereira (University of Guelph)

Kingston – Ethan Werek (Queen’s University)

Kitchener – Andrew Crescenzi (Wilfrid Laurier University)

London – Cody Donnay (University of Western Ontario)

Mississauga – Joseph Cramarossa (University of Toronto)

Niagara – Freddie Hamilton (Brock University)

Oshawa – Anton Zupancic (Durham College)

Ottawa – Shane Prince (Carleton University)

Owen Sound – Daniel Zweep (Mohawk College)

Peterborough – Justin Larson (Trent University)

Plymouth – Matt Mahalak (University of Michigan)

Saginaw – Mickey Sartoretto (Northwood University)

Sarnia – Nathan Chiarlitti (University of Guelph)

Sudbury – Josh McFadden (Laurentian University)

Sault Ste. Marie – Brock Beukeboom (Algoma College)

Windsor – Derek Lanoue (University of Windsor)*

*Repeat Roger Neilson Memorial Award nominee

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: