Wednesday, June 15, 2011


Press Release

OTTAWA, ON - June 13th, 2011 - The 2012 Fred Page Cup Host Organizing
Committee (HOC) is pleased to officially announce that former Ottawa Senator
and Kanata Valley Laser (now Kanata Stallions) Shean Donovan as the
Championships Honorary Chair. The prestigious event will be taking place in
Kanata (April 25-29) at the Kanata Recreation Complex. It's a first for the
Fred Page Cup to be hosted in Ottawa. The four team Championship will
consist of the winners from the Maritime Junior A Hockey League (MJAHL),
Quebec Junior AAA Hockey League, the CHL Tier One league champion and the
host team (Kanata Stallions).

The HOC which is led by Tony House of Corporate Hype felt that Shean Donovan
was the obvious choice, "Shean is a great guy, local, who played with
Kanata, won a gold medal at the World Junior's, went on to play in the
National Hockey League and he was genuinely excited when we asked him."
Donovan who played in the CCHL is the perfect example how numerous NHL
players have leveraged their time in the league. He feels that his
experience was key in his overall development, "I loved playing in the
Central, it was an excellent stepping stone and one I can attribute to my
success as a hockey player." Shean is looking forward to a fantastic week of
hockey this April, "I think Hockey Country is in for a real treat, this is
the first time the Fred Page Cup has been hosted in the Ottawa region and it
should be an incredible week for all local hockey fans."

The 2012 Fred Page Cup (FPC) will feature an initial six game round-robin
play amongst the four qualifying teams. The team with the best record will
automatically advance to the finals and await the winner of the single
semi-final. The FPC showcases the best Jr. A teams in Eastern Canada with
the winner joining four other teams in the RBC Cup. This past year the
Pembroke Lumber Kings of the CCHL won the RBC Cup in Camrose, Alta earning
their first, and the Central leagues first National title in 35 years.

Additional information on the event can be found at . SHEAN DONOVAN ANNOUNCED AS 2012 FRED PAGE CUP HONORARY CHAIR

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: