Tuesday, October 4, 2011

BCHL to hold first-ever affiliate draft of 15-year-old players

Press Release

On Monday, Oct. 3, BCHL governor and league officials will convene in Richmond for the first governors meetings of the new season.

Amongst other things, an affiliate draft will be held which will give teams the chance to select 15-year-old players for the purpose of affiliating them for the season and introduce them to their team culture and to Junior A hockey. The players rights will not be retained at the end of the season.

"It will give each team a season to build a relationship with the young player," said BCHL executive director Dave Sales. "Perhaps more importantly for the league as a whole, even if a player doesn't stay with the team that drafted them, they may sign with another BCHL team because of their exposure to the league and we will have been successful as a group in keeping players versus them choosing other options."

The idea for the affiliate draft was approved by governors after the end of last season from a motion by the the steering committe of the board of directors. As ever, the BCHL is exploring new ideas as a way of staying relevant to developing hockey players and as a way of setting the pace for Junior A hockey in Canada.

Teams will have the option of selecting a player in each of the two rounds but are not required to do so because the draft is optional. Teams select based on reverse order of finish in the 2010-11 standings. The draft order is as follows:

1. Prince George - Kenny Nordstorm
2. Chilliwack - Matthew Revel
3. Cowichan Valley - Mitchell Meek
4. Merritt - Rhett Willcox
5. Coquitlam - Victor Dombrowsky
6. Alberni Valley - Chase Lang
7. Nanaimo - Nicolais Gomerich
8. Trail - Mitchell Foyle
9. Victoria - Ryan Kelm
10. Langley - Ryan Simpson
11. Westside - Brett Mennear
12. Surrey - Ryan Gropp
13. Salmon Arm - Spencer Hewson
14. Penticton - Riley Stadel
15. Vernon - Steven Alldridge
16. Powell River - PASS

17. Prince George - Tyler Povelofskie
18. Chilliwack - Mitchell Skapski
19. Cowichan Valley - PASS
20. Merritt - Zachary Sanderson
21. Coquitlam - Tyler Sandhu
22. Alberni Valley - Alec Dillon
23. Nanaimo - Liam Shaw
24. Trail - Jeff Rayman
25. Victoria - Austin Scanks
26. Langley - Dalton Yorke
27. Westside - Gen Bryshun
28. Surrey - Mitchell Friesen
29, Salmon Arm - Joe Hicketts
30. Penticton - Graham Millar
31. Vernon - Logan Mick
32. Powell River - PASS

(Nathan can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: