Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Steel Release 25 Man Roster

Press Release

Bensenville, IL (July 26, 2012) - The Chicago Steel announced their 25-man roster on Thursday for the 2012-13 season. Highlighting this year's team are a pair of NHL Draft picks, 12 returning players from last season and 11 skaters who have made their college hockey commitments.

Mackenzie MacEachern, will be in his first season with the Steel after being selected fourth overall in the 2012 United States Hockey League Entry Draft in May. One month later, the 6-foot-3, 180-pound forward was drafted by the St. Louis Blues in third-round (67th overall) of the 2012 NHL Entry Draft. MacEachern was Michigan's Mr. Hockey award winner in 2011-12 following an impressive senior season (42g, 48a).

Also hearing his name called at the 2012 NHL Draft was defenseman Jaccob Slavin. Slavin, who had three goals and 27 assist in 60 games for the Steel last year, was selected by the Carolina Hurricanes with the 120th overall pick. Slavin returns for his second full season in a Chicago uniform after leading his squad to a 12-5-3 record in the final 20 games of the 2011-12 regular season.

The Steel look to continue their winning ways from last season as veterans Alex Sakellaropoulos, Joel Benson, Slavin, Christian Neumann, Phillip Marinaccio, Daniel Kucerovy, Christian Heil, Ali Thomas, Ray Pigozzi, Jeff Kubiak, Charlie O'Connor and Alex Roos welcome Chicago's 13 newcomers to the 2012-13 squad. The Steel will open up the regular season on Friday, Sept. 28 when the Indiana Ice arrive at The Edge Ice Arena for a 7:30 p.m. faceoff.

Individual game tickets, flex plans and season tickets can be purchased by calling the Steel Ticket Office at 630-594-1161 or by logging on to tickets.chicagosteelhockeyteam.com. For a complete 2012-13 regular season please visit us at www.chicagosteelhockeyteam.com.



Alex Sakellaropoulos
Chris Nell


Joel Benson
Matt Joyaux (Miami University)
Johnny Wingels
Jaccob Slavin (Colorado College)
Tim Davison (University of Wisconsin)
Christian Neumann (Air Force Academy)
Brian LeBlanc
Donovan Gardiner


Phillip Marinaccio (Bemidji State)
Daniel Kucerovy
Danny Fetzer
Joseph Widmar
Christian Heil (Colorado College)
Mackenzie MacEachern (Michigan State)
Ali Thomas (Notre Dame)
Thomas Ebbing (Bowling Green)
Ray Pigozzi (University of Denver)
Jeff Kubiak
Charlie O�Connor
Patrick Polino
Alex Roos (Colorado College)
Daniel McNamara
Christopher Dodero

(Nathan can be reached at nathanfournier@mainehockeyjournal.com)

No comments: