Sunday, March 17, 2013

Hawks To Receive Scotty Munro Trophy Sunday

Press Release

The Portland Winterhawks will be presented with the Western Hockey League’s Scotty Munro Trophy as regular season champions Sunday prior to the regular season finale against the Spokane Chiefs at 5 p.m. in the Rose Garden.

The Winterhawks have clinched the trophy, awarded annually to the team that finishes with the best record in the regular season, and signifies home ice advantage through the playoffs. Richard Doerksen, Vice President, Hockey for the WHL, will be on hand to present the Winterhawks with the trophy.

It’s the third time the Winterhawks have earned the trophy, having done so previously in the 1979-80 and 1997-98 seasons.

The presentation of the Scotty Munro Trophy will follow the annual team awards, which include MVP, Rookie of the Year, and Best Defensive Player among the honors.

The Winterhawks are also on pace to have the WHL’s Bob Clarke Trophy winner, awarded annually to the league’s top scorer. Brendan Leipsic leads the WHL with 115 points, Nic Petan is second with 112 points and Ty Rattie is third with 104 points. The last Winterhawk to win the Bob Clarke Trophy was Todd Robinson in 1996-97

Group ticket packages for the remainder of the regular season and 2013 WHL Playoffs are now available. Contact the Winterhawks today at 236-HAWK or email for details.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: