Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Team USA Duo Makes College Commitments

Press Release

  Forward Michael Floodstrand has committed to Harvard University while defenseman Jack Dougherty has committed to play collegiate hockey at the University of Wisconsin following their USHL careers.

Floodstrand has already produced four points (2g, 2a) in five games during his first USHL season with Team USA’s Under-17 squad.  He scored a goal in his USHL debut, a shorthanded tally in the 7-6 win over the Youngstown Phantoms on September 21st.  The 16-year-old from Hinsdale, Illinois played youth hockey with the Chicago Mission AAA organization prior to his time in the USHL.

Floodstrand is joined by Team USA teammates Jeremy Bracco and Brandon Fortunato who are also committed to Harvard University, along with Waterloo Black Hawks defenseman Alec McCrea.

Harvard is a member of the ECAC and has 12 USHL alumni on the roster this season; Max Everson (Omaha/Team USA), Dan Ford (Sioux City Musketeers), Tom O’Regan (Sioux Falls/Omaha), Desmond Bergin (Dubuque/Tri-City), Kyle Criscuolo (Sioux City Musketeers), Greg Gozzo (Omaha Lancers), Steve Michalek (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Sean Malone (Team USA), Tyler Moy (Omaha Lancers), Philip Zielonka (Omaha Lancers), Victor Newell (Waterloo/Omaha), and Clay Anderson (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders).

Dougherty is playing his first USHL season after joining Team USA’s Under-18 squad.  He has collected two assists over three games this season, including an assist in his USHL debut on September 20th vs. Youngstown.  The 17-year-old has also posted a plus-seven rating which is currently tied for second overall in the USHL.  He is a native of Cottage Grove, Minnesota and played high school hockey the last two seasons at St. Thomas Academy.

Dougherty is joined by Team USA teammates Luke Kunin, Luke Opilka, and Ryan Wagner who are also committed to play hockey at the University of Wisconsin.  Four other current USHL players are also committed to the school – Peter Tischke (Chicago Steel), Keegan Ford (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Seamus Malone (Dubuque Fighting Saints), and Jake Linhart (Green Bay Gamblers).

The University of Wisconsin is part of the brand new Big Ten hockey conference and has 15 USHL alumni on the roster this season; Tyler Barnes (Waterloo Black Hawks), Grant Besse (Omaha Lancers), Aidan Cavallini (Chicago Steel), Jefferson Dahl (Green Bay/Youngstown), Tim Davison (Chicago Steel), Chase Drake (Sioux City/Green Bay), Gavin Hartzog (Fargo Force), Nic Kerdiles (Team USA), Sean Little (Green Bay Gamblers), Jake McCabe (Team USA), Michael Mersch (Team USA), Keegan Meuer (Waterloo Black Hawks), Adam Miller (Chicago Steel), Matt Paape (Sioux City Musketeers), Frankie Simonelli (Team USA),

 (Nathan can be reached at nathanfournier@mainehockeyjournal.com)

No comments: