Monday, January 20, 2014

AJHL Announces Top 50 Players of All-Time

Press Release

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to announce the Top 50 AJHL Players of All-Time following months of online voting and over 5,000 votes cast.  The Top 50 List includes ten players from each decade and is filled with NHL alumni, current NHL superstars and some of the biggest names in Canadian hockey history!

Forty-three players on the Top 50 List went on to play in the National Hockey League (NHL) following their AJHL careers.  Eight have won the coveted Stanley Cup Trophy, including Mike Vernon, Lanny McDonald, Mark Messier and Steve Reinprecht.  A total of nineteen AJHL Alumni have won the coveted Stanley Cup since 1980.

Thirteen current NHL players have been selected as members of the Top 50 AJHL Players of All-Time.  Chris Phillips, Dany Heatley, Mason Raymond, Mark Letestu, Joe Colborne and Scottie Upshall are amongst the players in this category.     Twenty AJHL alumni played in the NHL during the 2012-2013 season, including one player in the 2013 Stanley Cup Finals, who is also on the Top 50 List (Wade Redden).

The Top 50 AJHL Players of All-Time also reflects a strong tie to the league’s Alberta roots as four members of the Sutter family have earned their spots as one of the greatest players in AJHL history – Brian Sutter, Duane Sutter, Brent Sutter and Darryl Sutter.  Three current NHL players on the Top 50 List are members of Alberta’s Calgary Flames and Edmonton Oilers.  Current Fort McMurray Oil Barons Head Coach, Gord Thibodeau, has also secured a spot in the Top 50 for his time as a player in the league.

“The Alberta Junior Hockey League is proud to recognize this unique and diverse group of athletes as its’ Top 50 Players of All-Time and is honored to have contributed to their development and illustrious careers,” said League Commissioner and AJHL alumnus Ryan Bartoshyk.  “These fifty players epitomize the opportunity available by competing in the AJHL and embody the spirit of our League.”

The Top 10 Players from each decade were determined through a series of online voting stages throughout the opening months of the 2013-2014 season.  Fans were encouraged to vote based on the individual player’s achievements during their time in the Alberta Junior Hockey League and their accomplishments after graduating from the league.

Top 50 AJHL Players of All-Time:

2004 -2013

    Mason Raymond, Camrose Kodiaks
    Joe Colborne, Camrose Kodiaks
    Matt Frattin, Fort Saskatchewan Traders
    Corban Knight, Okotoks Oilers
    T. J. Galiardi, Calgary Royals
    Ben Scrivens, Spruce Grove Saints
    Mark Letestu, Bonnyville Pontiacs
    Dylan Olsen, Camrose Kodiaks
    Justin Fontaine, Bonnyville Pontiacs
    Taylor Fedun, Spruce Grove Saints

1994 – 2003

    Dany Heatley, Calgary Canucks
    Mike Comrie, St. Albert Saints
    Curtis Glencross, Brooks Bandits
    Rene Bourque, St. Albert Saints
    Chris Phillips, Fort McMurray Oil Barons
    Fernando Pisani St. Albert Saints
    Mark Bomersback, Canmore Eagles
    Scottie Upshall, Fort McMurray Oil Barons
    Scott Hartnell, Lloydminster Blazers
    Steve Reinprecht, St. Albert Saints

1984 – 1993

    Zarley Zalapski, Fort Saskatchewan
    Wade Redden, Lloydminster Blazers
    Stu Barnes, St. Albert Saints
    Gary Valk, Sherwood Park
    Dixon Ward, Red Deer Rustlers
    Brad Werenka, Fort Saskatchewan Traders
    Garry Shuchuk, St. Albert Saints
    Glen Wesley, Red Deer Rustlers
    Gord Thibodeau, Fort Saskatchewan Traders
    Corey Hirsch, Calgary Canucks

1974 - 1983

    Brent Sutter Red Deer Rustlers
    Mark Messier, Spruce Grove Mets
    Darryl Sutter, Red Deer Rustlers
    Duane Sutter, Red Deer Rustlers
    Kelly Kisio, Red Deer Rustlers
    Dave Babych, Fort Saskatchewan Traders
    Clint Malarchuk, Fort Saskatchewan
    Troy Murray, St. Albert Saints
    Perry Berezan, St. Albert Saints
    Mike Vernon, Calgary Canucks

1964 - 1973

    Brian Sutter, Red Deer
    Garry Unger, Calgary Buffaloes
    Lanny McDonald, Lethbridge Sugar Kings
    John Davidson, Lethbridge Sugar Kings
    Stan Weir, Ponoka Stampeders
    Paul Messier, Edmonton Mets
    Doug Lindskog, Red Deer Rustlers
    Tom Lindskog, Red Deer Rustlers
    Rick Zaparniuk, Calgary Canucks
    Darrell Knibbs Lethbridge Sugar Kings

The AJHL will celebrate its storied history across Alberta throughout the 2013-2014 season.  Join the AJHL in celebrating history, volunteerism, community spirit and great Junior A hockey!

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: