Tuesday, March 16, 2010

OHL Cup Showcase Tournament Participating Teams and Schedule

Press Release

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League in association with the Greater Toronto Hockey League today announced the 20 competing teams and tournament schedule for the 2010 OHL Cup Showcase hosted by the GTHL. The event takes place March 17-21 at the Hershey Centre in Mississauga, ON.

The 20 participating teams include the champions and finalists from minor hockey associations across Ontario including Ontario Hockey Federation Member Partners the GTHL, OMHA, ALLIANCE, and an NOHA representative, along with teams from the Ottawa District Hockey Association, and a representative from Hockey Northwestern Ontario. Additional participating teams from Ontario and the United States received invitations from the Tournament Selection Committee.

The puck drops on the 2010 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament at 1:15 pm Wednesday when the OMHA’s Whitby Wildcats take on the Oakville Rangers on Rink 2 at the Hershey Centre, with Main Bowl action commencing with the GTHL’s Toronto Young Nationals taking on the OMHA’s Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs at 1:45 pm. Round-robin games continue throughout the day Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday morning before Playoff Round action begins Saturday March 20 at 5:00 pm with the first Quarter Final game. Semi-Final games are played Sunday morning at 9:00 am and 9:30 am before the Championship Final takes place at 3:30 pm March 21st.

Select tournament games will be broadcast on Rogers TV Cable 10/63 with a complete schedule to be released prior to the tournament.

Follow the 2010 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament online at www.ohlcup.ca for the latest information including live scores, stats, standings, tournament news, and videos!

The 2010 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament is proud to partner with Manulife Bank and First Canadian Title as Primary Sponsors of the event.

2010 OHL Cup Showcase Tournament Participating Teams (final top-10 ranking also in brackets):

Division 1:
Toronto Nationals (GTHL-Champions) (1)
Hamilton Jr. Bulldogs (OMHA-Invite)
TPH Thunder (USA-Invite)
Ottawa Jr. 67’s (ODHA-Finalists)
GNML Wolves (NOHA)

Division 2:
Toronto Marlboros (GTHL-Invite) (3)
Markham Waxers (OMHA-Invite)
Elgin Middlesex Chiefs (ALLIANCE-Champions) (7)
Ottawa Valley Titans (ODHA-Champions) (10)
Clarington Toros (OMHA-Invite)

Division 3:
York Simcoe Express (OMHA-Champions) (9)
Eastern Ontario Wild (ODHA-Invite)
Thunder Bay Kings (HNO)
Toronto Jr. Canadiens (GTHL-Finalists) (2)
Huron Perth Lakers (ALLIANCE-Invite)

Division 4:
London Jr. Knights (ALLIANCE-Finalists) (5)
Whitby Wildcats (OMHA-Finalists) (8)
Mississauga Rebels (GTHL-Invite)
Oakville Rangers (OMHA-Invite)
Mississauga Reps (GTHL-Invite) (6)

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: