Thursday, March 25, 2010

Summerhays Commits to Notre Dame

Press Release

Green Bay Gamblers goaltender Steve Summerhays has committed to play collegiate hockey at the University of Notre Dame.

Summerhays has posted a 30-2-3 record this season, currently leading all USHL goaltenders in wins (30) and has a League best 2.20 goals-against-average. The 19-year-old also established a new USHL record this season when he won 20 consecutive starts from November 20th, 2009 to February 26th, 2010 breaking the mark of 18 which was set during the 1998-99 season (Matt Carney, Des Moines Buccaneers). The native of Anchorage, Alaska was selected as the starting goaltender for the East Division during the 2010 USHL All-Star Game.

It is the second USHL season for Summerhays after helping the Gamblers capture the Anderson Cup as regular season champions posting a 15-6-1 record while appearing in 23 games during the 2008-09 season. In 61 career appearances in the League, he has compiled a 45-8-4 record with a 2.26 GAA, .911 SV%, and three shutouts. He has never lost in regulation on home ice during his time in the USHL posting a 24-0-4 record in Green Bay.

Summerhays will be joined by current Gamblers teammates Anders Lee and David Gerths who are also committed to play hockey at the University of Notre Dame along with 10 other current USHL players who are committed to the school; Jeff Costello (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Kevin Lind (Chicago Steel), T.J. Tynan (Des Moines Buccaneers), Garrett Peterson (Lincoln Stars), Michael Voran (Sioux Falls Stampede), Stephen Johns (Team USA), Robbie Russo (Team USA), Bryan Rust (Team USA), Andy Ryan (Team USA), and Jarred Tinordi (Team USA).

The University of Notre Dame is a member of the CCHA and had 13 former USHL players on the roster during the 2009-10 season; Joe Lavin (Omaha Lancers), Kevin Deeth (Green Bay Gamblers), Ryan Guentzel (Sioux Falls Stampede), Mike Johnson (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Dan Kissel (Chicago Steel), Nick Larson (Waterloo Black Hawks), Kyle Lawson (Tri-City Storm), Billy Maday (Waterloo Black Hawks), Christiaan Minella (Sioux City Musketeers), Kevin Nugent (Tri-City Storm), Calle Ridderwall (Tri-City Storm), Ben Ryan (Des Moines Buccaneers), and Ryan Thang (Omaha Lancers).

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: