Saturday, March 13, 2010

Two RoughRiders Make College Choices

Press Release

Cedar Rapids RoughRiders goaltender Troy Grosenick has committed to play at Union College beginning in the fall of 2010 and forward David Boehm has committed to Bemidji State University for next season.

Grosenick is playing in his second USHL season and has posted a 22-14-2 record which includes two shutouts. His 22 wins are third most among League goaltenders. The 20-year-old from Brookfield, Wisconsin won eight straight starts from January 16th to February 27th. He was also selected to the 2010 USHL All-Star Game and earned the victory after entering the contest midway through the game and making 14 saves in the 5-4 overtime win for the East Division All-Stars. Grosenick has posted a 35-19-6 record in 63 appearances over two seasons with the RoughRiders.

Union College is located in Schenectady, New York and is a member of the ECAC. Three former USHL players are on the current roster; Ryan Forgaard (Tri-City Storm), Keith Kincaid (Des Moines Buccaneers), and Jeff Christiansen (Omaha Lancers).

Boehm has recorded 18 points (8g, 10a), including three game-winning goals, in 14 games since joining the RoughRiders in January. In his season debut, the 20-year-old tallied four points (1g, 3a) in the victory vs. Sioux Falls on January 22nd. He began the season at the University of Massachusetts after enrolling in the school in the fall of 2008. Boehm originally played two seasons (2006-08) in the USHL for the RoughRiders. The native of Naples, Florida has collected 78 points (34g, 44a) in 128 career games in the League.

Current USHL players Radoslav Illo of the Tri-City Storm and Mitch Cain of the Des Moines Buccaneers also committed to Bemidji State University.

Seven members on the Bemidji State University men's hockey team this season are former USHL players; Jake Areshenko (Fargo Force), Ryan Cramer (Waterloo Black Hawks), Kyle Hardwick (Lincoln Stars), Ben Kinne (Sioux City Musketeers), Tyler Lehrke (Green Bay Gamblers), Chris Peluso (Sioux Falls Stampede), and Matt Read (Des Moines Buccaneers).

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: