Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Spooner named OHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player

Press Release

Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced that Ryan Spooner of the Peterborough Petes is the William Hanley Trophy winner as the Most Sportsmanlike Player in the OHL for the 2009-10 season.

Spooner, an 18-year-old from Kanata, ON, had just 12 penalty minutes in 47 games played while producing 19 goals and 35 assists for 54 points in his second career OHL season with the Petes. He becomes the sixth member of the Petes organization to claim this award since it was first introduced following the 1960-61 season, and the most recent Pete to win since Mike Ricci in 1989-90.

“This is a great award to win and I am shocked to hear that I have won” Spooner said. “I did win similar awards throughout minor hockey and with the Petes last season but I am happy to receive it from the league. I have never taken too many penalties in hockey and have always tried to stay on the ice and not put the team at a disadvantage and try to always be good with my stick and body position.”

Eligible for the 2010 NHL Entry Draft, Spooner is ranked 39th among North American Skaters by NHL Central Scouting. He participated in the 2010 Home Hardware CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game and scored the shorthanded game-winner for Team Cherry in the 4-2 win. He recorded 14 multi-point games including two four-point games during the week ending November 29 when he was recognized as the Boston Pizza OHL Player of the Week. Spooner is currently competing as a member of Team Canada at the World Under-18 Championships in Belarus.

The William Hanley Trophy is awarded each year based on a selection by the 20 General Managers of the Ontario Hockey League. Teams are not permitted to vote for their own candidate with players receiving five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote, and one point for a third place vote. The trophy is presented by the OHL to commemorate William Hanley, former Secretary-Manager of the Ontario Hockey Association for over 25 years.

Both Spooner and Greg McKegg of the Erie Otters received 48 points in the voting process with Spooner claiming the award by virtue of having more first place votes. Jordan Skellett of the Saginaw Spirit finished third in the voting with 32 points.

Former winners of the William Hanley Trophy include Wayne Gretzky (Sault Ste. Marie 1977-78), Brian Campbell (Ottawa 1998-99), Brad Boyes (Erie 2000-01 and 2001-02), and Jeff Carter (Sault Ste. Marie 2004-05). Cody Hodgson of the Brampton Battalion was last season’s recipient. In addition to Spooner and Ricci, Andre Lacroix and Mickey Redmond both won for the Petes in 1965-66 and 1966-67 respectively, before Doug Jarvis won in 1974-75, and Scott Tottle in 1984-85.

Spooner will be presented with the William Hanley Trophy at the 2009-10 OHL Awards Ceremony set for Wednesday June 9 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto. He will also be the OHL’s nominee for Sportsman of the Year at the CHL Annual Awards.

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: