Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Arnold Commits to UMass Lowell

Press Release

The Waterloo Black Hawks announced that forward Derek Arnold will play collegiate hockey at the University of Massachusetts Lowell following his USHL career.

The native of Foxboro, Massachusetts has collected 13 assists in 24 games this season while also serving as team assistant captain. The versatile forward has also been called upon this season to log minutes as a defenseman. Arnold, 19, has been as valuable to the community off the ice as he founded "Arnie's Army" in November, a way for fans to channel their support of the Black Hawks into contributions to the Boys and Girls Club of Black Hawk County. It is the second USHL season for Arnold after scoring 32 points (20g, 12a) in 52 games during the 2008-09 campaign.

"Arnie is the kind of player any coach would enjoy working with," said Waterloo Black Hawks Head Coach P.K. O'Handley. "He has natural ability but knows he can make himself better. During his time in Waterloo, Derek has proven that he is willing to do the work needed to enhance his skills."

Five other current USHL players are committed to UMass Lowell; Josh Holmstrom (Sioux Falls Stampede), Chad Ruhwedel (Sioux Falls Stampede), Colton Saucerman (Des Moines Buccaneers), Tyler Brickler (Sioux City Musketeers), and Will Rayner (Lincoln Stars).

Members of Hockey East, the UMass Lowell River Hawks have five other former USHL players on the 2009-10 roster; Ben Holmstrom (Sioux Falls Stampede), Joe Caveney (Sioux City Musketeers), Sammy D'Agostino (Tri-City Storm), Jeremy Dehner (Green Bay Gamblers), and Nick Schaus (Omaha Lancers).

Click here for Derek Arnold's USHL profile.

Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, the USHL celebrates its 31st season of junior hockey in 2009-10. With over 175 players already committed to NCAA Division I schools and 13 NHL Entry Draft picks currently on League rosters, the USHL is the nation's foremost producer of junior hockey talent. For more information, visit us on the web at

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: