Wednesday, December 23, 2009

USA cuts Max Nicastro and Chris Brown

Press Release

SASKATOON, Sask. - USA Hockey today announced its 22-player roster the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team that will compete at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship Dec. 26, 2009-Jan. 5, 2010, in Saskatoon and Regina, Sask.

"This roster includes a significant number of players who have had success in international competition, which will help us as we prepare to play here in Canada," said Jim Johannson, general manager of the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team. "We had some really tough choices to make to get down to 22, but in the end, that's a positive sign for the state of hockey in our country."

"I'm really excited about this team," said Dean Blais, head coach of the 2010 U.S. National Junior Team. "We have a good mixture of speed and grit, and we look forward to the challenge ahead of us."

Among those named to the 2010 roster are three returning forwards from the 2009 U.S. National Junior Team, including Tyler Johnson (Spokane, Wash.), Danny Kristo (Eden Prairie, Minn./University of North Dakota) and Jordan Schroeder (Prior Lake, Minn./University of Minnesota).

Also highlighting the roster are seven players from the gold medal-winning 2009 U.S. National Under-18 Team, including forwards Ryan Bourque (Boxford, Mass.), Jerry D'Amigo (Binghamton, N.Y./Rensselaer), Jeremy Morin (Auburn, N.Y.) and Jason Zucker (Las Vegas, Nev./U.S. National Under-18 Team); defensemen Cam Fowler (Farmington Hills, Mich.) and John Ramage (St. Louis, Mo./University of Wisconsin); and goalie Jack Campbell (Port Huron, Mich./U.S. National Under-18 Team).

Team USA will face Slovakia on Saturday (Dec. 26) in its first game of the 2010 IIHF World Junior Championship. The game will begin at 8 p.m. EST, and will be aired live in the U.S. on the NHL Network.

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: