Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Aneloski Commits to Nebraska Omaha

Press Release

The Cedar Rapids RoughRiders announced that defenseman Bryce Aneloski has committed to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and will attend the school following his USHL career.

The announcement caps a big week for the 19-year-old native of Pekin, Illinois as he was named the CCM Defensive Player of the Week on Monday. Aneloski recorded the League's first hat trick of the season in Saturday's 7-2 win vs. Team USA while also collecting three assists for a six-point night. All three of his goals were scored on the power play which ties a USHL record for power play goals in a game by one player. The defenseman is currently tied for the USHL scoring lead with 15 points (6g, 9a) in eight games played this season.

Aneloski has played 105 games over parts of three seasons in the USHL recording 47 points (18g, 29a). He has also appeared in eight playoff contests.

"I am proud of Bryce and all that he has accomplished with us so far this season," said Mark Carlson, RoughRiders head coach and general manager. "UNO will be lucky to have a player like him who is good, solid, and reliable defensively, but also has the ability to chip in offensively."

Four other current USHL players are committed to attend the University of Nebraska at Omaha; Brian O'Rourke (Green Bay Gamblers), Nick Oddo (Omaha Lancers), Matt White (Omaha Lancers), and Patrick Borer (Sioux City Musketeers).

The University of Nebraska at Omaha Mavericks have an impressive 19 former USHL players on their roster for the 2009-10 season; Matt Smith (Indiana Ice), Kyle Ensign (Tri-City Storm), Pasko Skarica (Waterloo Black Hawks), Eddie DeGrosso (Indiana Ice), Jake Skjodt (Indiana Ice), Rich Purslow (Des Moines Buccaneers), Mike Phillippi (Indiana Ice), J.J. Koehler (Lincoln Stars), Jordan Willert (Tri-City Storm), Terry Broadhurst (Sioux Falls Stampede), Nick Fanto (Omaha Lancers), Ryan Kretzer (Lincoln Stars), Brandon Richardson (Indiana Ice), Mark Bernier (Tri-City Storm), Eric Olimb (Indiana Ice), John Kemp (Indiana Ice), Brent Gwidt (Indiana Ice), Alex Hudson (Tri-City Storm), and Matt Ambroz (Tri-City Storm).

The Mavericks are coached by Dean Blais, who was the 2008-09 USHL Coach of the Year leading the Fargo Force to the Clark Cup Finals during their inaugural season. Associate Head Coach Mike Hastings is the USHL's all-time leader in coaching victories (529) after guiding the Omaha Lancers for 14 seasons (1994-2008). Assistant Coach Nick Fohr was a player for the Lincoln Stars for two seasons (1996-98)

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: