Tuesday, October 20, 2009

USA's WJAC roster

Press Release

USA Hockey announced the roster for the 2009 U.S. Junior Select Team that will compete at the World Junior A Challenge November 1-8 in Summerside, P.E.I. Of the 22 players named to Team USA for the tournament, 21 are currently playing in the USHL.

Nine different USHL teams had players named to the Select Team with both the Indiana Ice and Cedar Rapids RoughRiders each having four players selected to the squad. Ten of the players are currently in their first USHL season. Lincoln Stars forward David Gerths is making his second consecutive appearance on the squad after helping Team USA to gold in the 2008 event.

Five of the USHL players represented the U.S. Under-18 Select Team that competed in the 2009 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Tournament in Piestany, Slovakia, including Kevin Lind (Chicago Steel), Colten St. Clair (Fargo Force), Kevin Gravel (Sioux City Musketeers), Mike Parks (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), and Connor Brickley (Des Moines Buccaneers).

Four of the USHL players were selected in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft, including Mac Bennett (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders) in the third round (79th overall) by the Montreal Canadiens, Jeff Costello (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders) in the fifth round (146th overall) by the Ottawa Senators, Nick Jensen (Green Bay Gamblers) in the fifth round (150th overall) by the Detroit Red Wings, and Nic Dowd (Indiana Ice) in the seventh round (198th overall) by the Los Angeles Kings.

2009 U.S. Junior Select Team Roster

Goaltenders: Eric Mihalik (Des Moines Buccaneers), Willie Yanakeff (Sioux City Musketeers)

Defensemen: Kevin Albers (Green Bay Gamblers), Mac Bennett (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Kevin Gravel (Sioux City Musketeers), Nick Jensen (Green Bay Gamblers), Kevin Lind (Chicago Steel), Nick Mattson (Indiana Ice), Eamonn McDermott (Fargo Force)

Forwards: Shane Berschbach (Indiana Ice), Connor Brickley (Des Moines Buccaneers), Jeff Costello (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Chris Crane (Green Bay Gamblers), Derek DeBlois (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Nic Dowd (Indiana Ice), David Gerths (Lincoln Stars), Matt Leitner (Fargo Force), John Parker (Indiana Ice), Mike Parks (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Nick Sorkin (Waterloo Black Hawks), Colten St. Clair (Fargo Force), Beau Bennett (Penticton – BCHL).

“The USHL players USA Hockey has selected to form Team USA represent the League at its best,” said Commissioner Skip Prince. “It’s a great group of players, selected from a great talent pool – young, fast, strong on the puck, and proud to have the opportunity to wear the national crest. We’re excited to see them hit the ice and represent America’s best.”

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: