Saturday, October 17, 2009

MJAHL prospect roster

Press Release

The Maritime Junior “A” Hockey League has announced their 22 man roster and staff for the upcoming exhibition series against World Jr “A” Challenge participants, Canada East and Team Belarus Juniors. The games are slated for October 29th, 2009 in Truro and October 30th in Amherst. Both games will have start times of 7:30pm.

The World Junior “A” Challenge that will be held in Summerside from Nov 1-8th at Credit Union Place, is a six team international tournament that sees the best Canadian Junior A Hockey Players compete against some of the best 19 and under players in the World. This event has featured such NHL prospects and current players such as Kyle Turris (Canada West) of the Phoenix Coyotes, Nikita Filatov (Russia) of the Columbus Blue Jackets and many more.

“This is a great opportunity that we have been given to showcase our players and league against the top talents from Eastern Canada and the country of Belarus,” commented Dave Ritcey Vice President of the MJAHL and will also serve as the MJAHL’s Manager of Team Services during the exhibition series.

The MJAHL was approached by the World Junior A Host committee in the summer with the idea of an exhibition series against some of the World Junior A Hockey participating teams.

“When this opportunity was brought to the board, our Chairman, John Lynn strongly suggested to the 11 governors in the league that if we are to do this, it is important that every MJAHL team has a player represented on the prospects,” said Ritcey.

The 13 forwards, 7 defenseman and 2 goalies that will represent the 2009 Maritime Junior A Prospects were selected by the coaching staff at the Annual Showcase weekend in Summerside PEI in early October. The staff consists of Head Coach Shawn Evans (Truro Bearcats), Corey Crocker (Amherst Ramblers) and Billy McGuigan (Miramichi Timberwolves).

The MJAHL Prospects roster will feature in goal Kirk Rafuse (Truro) and Andre Guay (Woodstock ). On defense there will be Brad Tesink (Woodstock), Chris Owens (Miramichi), Derek Smith (Amherst), Evan Watts (Truro), Scott MacDonald (Pictou County), Eric Boudreau (Amherst) and Sam Caldwell (Truro). The forwards will consist of Dana Fraser (Truro), Matt Milson (Miramichi), Harrison McIvor (Summerside), Trevor Carmichael (Summerside), Chuckie Schrembi (Dieppe), Justin Matthews (Amherst), Ryan Nickerson (Yarmouth), Jordan Burke (Bridgewater), Nick Huard (Woodstock), Nicolas Cyr (Campbellton), Darcy Ashley (Summerside), Andrew Langan (Woodstock) and Stuart Lenehan (Halifax).

“For myself, as well as Corey and Billy, we are pleased and excited to be given the chance to work with some great hockey players over the next three days, both on and off the ice,” said Head Coach Shawn Evans.

Tickets will go on sale on Thursday and will cost $11.00 per ticket. You can purchase the tickets at MacQuarries in Truro and the Pharmasave in Amherst.

Other contests will be held in Charlottetown, Montague PEI and O’Leary PEI and will feature the other participating teams Canada West, Russia and the United States.

Maritime Junior A Hockey League Prospects

Goaltenders: Age Hometown MJAHL Team

# 1 Kirk Rafuse 19 Kentville, NS Truro Bearcats
# 30 Andre Guay 20 Moncton, NB Woodstock Slammers


# 2 Evan Watts 19 Inverness NS Truro Bearcats
# 3 Derek Smith “A” 20 Amherst, NS Amherst Ramblers
# 4 Chris Owens “C” 20 St.John’s NF Miramichi Timberwolves
# 5 Brad Tesink “A” 20 Saint John NB Woodstock Slammers
# 6 Eric Boudreau 19 Arichat, NS Amherst Ramblers
# 7 Scott MacDonald 19 Halifax, NS Pictou County Crushers
# 8 Sam Caldwell 18 North Sydney, NS Truro Bearcats


# 8 Dana Fraser “A” 20 Tatmagoughe NS Truro Bearcats
# 9 Matt Milson 19 Miramichi, NB Miramichi Timberwolves
# 10 Harrison McIvor 19 Summerside, PEI Summerside Capitals
# 11 Trevor Carmichael 19 Summerside, PEI Summerside Capitals
# 12 Chuckie Schembri 19 Brampton, Ont Dieppe Commandos
# 14 Justin Matthews 18 Amherst, NS Amherst Ramblers
# 15 Ryan Nickerson 18 Barrington, NS Yarmouth Mariners
# 16 Jordan Burke 18 Halifax, NS Bridgewater Lumberjacks
# 17 Nick Huard 18 North Bay, Ont Woodstock Slammers
# 18 Nicolas Cyr 17 Grand Sault, NB Campbellton Tigers
# 19 Darcy Ashley 16 Alberton, PEI Summerside Capitals
# 20 Andrew Langan 18 Quispamsis, NB Woodstock Slammers
# 21 Stuart Lenehan 19 Dartmouth, NS Halifax Lions

Hockey Staff:

Derryl Smith- President Fredericton NB MJAHL
Shawn Evans, Head Coach Kingston, Ontario Truro Bearcats
Corey Crocker, Assistant Coach/General Manager Hr Grace, NF Amherst Ramblers
Billy McGuigan, Assistant Coach Charlottetown, PEI Miramichi Timberwolves
Dave Ritcey, Manager of Team Services Truro, NS MJAHL

Support Staff:

Steve Lindsay Truro, NS Truro Bearcats
Chip Wright Truro, NS Truro Bearcats
Lindsey Jardine Miramichi NB Miramichi Timberwolves
Ryan Trevors Miramichi NB Miramichi Timberwolves
Willie Boyle Amherst, NS Amherst Ramblers
Avard Cameron Amherst NS Amherst Ramblers

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: