Thursday, March 22, 2012


Press Release

Calgary, AB - The Western Hockey League announced today the 2011-12 WHL Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Conference Finalists for the 2012 WHL Awards. The WHL Player of the Year finalists will be announced on Wednesday, April 18th, 2012. The winners of these awards along with the WHL Player of the Year will be announced at the 2012 WHL Awards Luncheon in Calgary, Alberta on Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012.

The WHL announced the Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC), Kootenay Ice
Western Conference – Tim Bozon (Cureglia, SUI), Kamloops Blazers

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Tyler Bunz (St. Albert, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers
Western Conference – Ty Rimmer (Edmonton, AB), Tri-City Americans

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Alex Petrovic (Edmonton, AB), Red Deer Rebels
Western Conference – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Mark Stone (Winnipeg, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Western Conference – Ryan Murray (White City, SK), Everett Silvertips

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Jimmy Bubnick (Saskatoon, SK), Calgary Hitmen
Western Conference – Reid Gow (Killarney, MB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Pat Conacher, Regina Pats
Western Conference – Jim Hiller, Tri-City Americans

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Craig Bonner, Kamloops Blazers

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Taylor Vause (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos
Western Conference – Brendan Gallagher (Delta, BC), Vancouver Giants

WHL Marketing / Business Award
Eastern Conference – Moose Jaw Warriors
Western Conference – Spokane Chiefs

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: