Sunday, April 15, 2012

Brooks Bandits Win 2012 Enerflex Cup Finals

Press Release

The Brooks Bandits have won their first league championship and are the 2012 AJHL Enerflex Cup Champions. The Bandits captured the league title with a 4 - 0 victory over the Fort McMurray Oil Barons in Fort McMurray tonight.

The Brooks Bandits held a perfect 8-0 post-season record entering the series versus the Oil Barons. Brooks opened the Enerflex Cup final series with a 5-1 win to extend a 20-game win streak dating back to January before facing their first loss in Game Two. The Bandits won the Enerflex Cup in Game Six of the best-of-seven series.

AJHL Vice-President Ryan Bartoshyk presented the 2012 Playoff MVP Award to Brooks Bandits goaltender Jan Obernesser. Obernesser recorded a shutout in the championship victory in Game Six. He posted a 12-2 record, a league leading 2.16 GAA, and 2 shutouts in the 2012 AJHL Playoffs.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: