Sunday, January 27, 2013


Press Release

CALGARY, AB. - The Western Hockey League announced today the recipient of this year’s WHL Alumni Achievement Award in the professional hockey category is former Kamloops Blazer Scott Niedermayer.

The WHL Alumni Achievement Award annually recognizes WHL graduates who pursued professional hockey and achieved a distinguished career in the NHL as well as an alumnus who has obtained a post-secondary education through the WHL Scholarship Program and has moved on to a highly successful business career.  The recipients are selected annually by the WHL Alumni Association Executive Committee, which is headed by former WHL and NHL graduate Kelly Hrudey.

Professional Hockey Recipient – Scott Niedermayer

Scott Niedermayer, originally from Cranbrook, B.C., joined the Kamloops Blazers for the 1989-90 season.  Over the course of three seasons with the Blazers, Niedermayer accumulated 47 goals and 190 points in 156 games and was named to the WHL West First All-Star team in 1991 and 1992.  Following the 1990-91 season Niedermayer was recognized for his efforts off the ice and was the recipient of the WHL and CHL Scholastic Player of the Year Award.  The defenseman was instrumental in the Blazers’ winning the WHL Championship and capturing the franchise’s first Memorial Cup in 1992.

Following his success in Kamloops, Niedermayer was selected third overall by the New Jersey Devils in the 1991 NHL Entry Draft.  His NHL career spanned 17 seasons from 1992 to 2010 during which time he played 12 seasons with the New Jersey Devils and five with the Anaheim Ducks.  Niedermayer appeared in 1263 NHL regular season games recording 784 points, as well as 202 NHL playoff games gathering 98 points.  Over the course of his illustrious NHL career, he captured the Stanley Cup a total of four times, three with the Devils (1995, 2000, 2003) and one with the Ducks in 2007 when was also named NHL Playoff MVP and awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy.

Niedermayer is considered one of the most decorated hockey players of all-time.  He is the only individual to win every major North American and International Championship including the WHL Championship, Memorial Cup, IIHF World Junior Championship Gold, Stanley Cup, IIHF World Championship Gold, World Cup of Hockey and Olympic Gold.

Currently Scott Niedermayer, together with his brother Rob, are minority owners of the Kootenay Ice franchise, based in his hometown of Cranbrook, B.C.

“Given that Scott’s remarkable career started in the WHL with the Kamloops Blazers, it is only fitting that he receives the highest honour the WHL presents to our graduate players, the WHL Alumni Achievement Award,” commented WHL Commissioner Ron Robison.  “Scott is not only a future inductee into the Hockey Hall of Fame but a great role model to all current WHL players.”

WHL Commissioner Ron Robison will be in Kamloops Friday to present Niedermayer with the WHL Alumni Achievement Award as part of the Blazers’ Niedermayer Jersey Retirement pre-game ceremony.

Past Winners

Professional Hockey – Bob Clarke
WHL Scholarship – Jeff Zorn

Professional Hockey – Joe Sakic
WHL Scholarship – Gavin McLeod

Professional Hockey – Trevor Linden
WHL Scholarship – Dan Hulak

Professional Hockey – Lanny McDonald
WHL Scholarship – Blair St. Martin

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: