Thursday, May 27, 2010

Dominic Jalbert receives Guy Lafleur Award of Excellence

Press Release

The program was introduced in 1985 with the objective of encouraging sports and academics excellence for all players competing in all three major amateur hockey leagues in the province of Quebec: The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, Canadian Interuniversity Sports in Quebec (CIS) and the Quebec Junior AAA Hockey League. The winners are selected by a jury consisting of representatives from the sports media, the hockey and education communities. Molson will award recipients of the Guy Lafleur Awards of Excellence a $6,000 scholarship.

Dominic Jalbert is the recipient in the QMJHL. The 20-year-old winger attended Cégep de Chicoutimi where he studied in applied sciences while also registering for classes at Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. He maintained an impressive 83% average. He was honoured at the Golden Puck Awards Gala as the QMJHL’s top student athlete, winning the Marcel-Robert Trophy. He was also honoured by the Canadian Hockey League as the Subway Scholastic Player of the Year. He collected 131 points in 227 over a four-year career in the QMJHL.

A former QMJHL player also received a Guy Lafleur Award of Excellence. Francis Guérette-Charland, a former forward with the Victoriaville Tigres and current member of the Patriotes of l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR), registered 24 goals and 29 assists in only 27 games. He is currently working towards a business degree. Guérette-Charland received the R.W. Pugh Trophy as the CIS’ Sportsman of the Year.
(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: