Saturday, March 17, 2012

North Stars’ Mason Prout named RBC Scholarship award recipient

Press Release

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Thursday that Mason Prout of the Thunder Bay North Stars has been named the 2011-12 recipient of the RBC Scholarship award.

The 18-year-old Thunder Bay native is in his rookie season as a defenceman with the North Stars after having spent the past three campaigns in the Thunder Bay Kings AAA organization.

A grade 12 student at St. Patrick High School, Prout has sustained solid marks throughout the season while maintaining a strong commitment to both his studies and efforts on the ice, in practice and games.

With the honour comes a $1,000 scholarship on behalf of RBC to help defer costs of a post-secondary education.

Prout also becomes the SIJHL’s nominee for the Hockey Canada/Canadian Jr. Hockey League RBC Scholastic player of the year award, which will be announced during the upcoming Royal Bank Cup in Humboldt, Sask.

That recipient will receive a $5,000 scholarship.

The following are the all-time SIJHL RBC Scholarship award recipients:

2011-12: Mason Prout, Thunder Bay North Stars
2010-11: Morgan McNeill, Fort Frances Lakers
2009-10: Andrew Childs, K&A Wolverines
2008-09: Michael Thibert, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2007-08: Graeme Harrington, Dryden Ice Dogs
2006-07: Jacob Cahoon, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2005-06: Jeff Herringer, K&A Golden Hawks
2004-05: Andrew Fernandez, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: No recipient
2002-03: Rylan Vesa, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Tony Sikich, Northwest Wisconsin Knights

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: