Saturday, January 12, 2013


Press Release

Cranbrook, BC – Jeff Chynoweth, General Manager of the Kootenay ICE Hockey Club, today announced the club has named 20-year-old Defenseman Joey Leach as Captain for the remainder of the 2012-2013 season.  Leach is the second captain this year following the departure of Drew Czerwonka this past October (John Kachur – 1996-1997, Steve McCarthy – 1998-2000, Mike Green – 2000, Mike Comrie – 2000, Dean Arsene – 2000-2001, Jason Jaffray – 2001-2002, Jarret Stoll – 2001-2002, Colin Sinclair – 2002-2003, Nigel Dawes – 2003-2005, Adam Cracknell – 2005-2006, Ryan Russell – 2006-2007, Steve DaSilva – 2007-2008, Andrew Bailey – 2008-2009, Dustin Sylvester – 2009-2010, Brayden McNabb - 2010-2011, Drew Czerwonka 2011-2012).  The Assistant Captains will be Brock Montgomery, Sam Reinhart and Jagger Dirk.

“Leadership is important on any team and it comes from within.  When you have a young team it is even more important to have players that know what it takes to win and develop that winning culture.  All four players wearing letters were a part of our 2011 Championship Team and understand the standard of excellence we strive to accomplish” added Chynoweth.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: