Saturday, January 12, 2013

SJHL Hall of Fame Induction

Press Release

The Estevan Bruins Hockey Club is proud to announce that we will be hosting the 2013 Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Hall of Fame Inductions in conjunction with our annual awards banquet, which will be held on Saturday March 2nd, 2012 at the Days Inn Plaza.

The Estevan Bruins organization put together a list of over 25 names of Bruin players, coaches and builders who have had a massive impact on the growth, development and success of the franchise over the past years. After careful deliberation a short list was sent in to the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League for a final decision. We are proud to announce that the following six individuals have been chosen for induction to the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Hall of Fame.

Ron Dunville: Ron was one of the most dynamic players in Bruins history. He is the all-time Bruins leading scorer and is 12th in SJHL history and third in SJHL for goals scored.

Bruce Firth: Bruce is 18th all-time in SJHL scoring history and is regarded as one of the SJHL Bruins top players of all-time. Bruce was also a longstanding member of the executive and as the team’s accountant played a crucial role in helping to guide the team to financial stability.

Ray Frehlick: Ray was part of the group that kept the franchise alive when the WHL Bruins moved to New Westminster. Ray was a huge part of the first management team of the SJHL Bruins and has long been an incredible financial supporter.

Alan May: Alan spent four years with Bruins. In ‘85 Alan had 51 goals and over 400 PIM’s on the team that won the SJHL championship. Alan then went on to an 8 year NHL career. With respect to the SJHL Bruins, Al has had one of the best post-Bruin careers. Alan remains involved in hockey as announcer for the Washington Capitals.

Bill Shinske: Bill had a huge influence on the SJHL and the Estevan Bruins. This long time general manager’s name was synonymous with the Bruins franchise for years. The league’s builder of the year award was named in his honour.

Terry Simpson: Terry played with the Bruins prior to their move to the WHL. He then went on to coach Prince Albert to a number of dominant seasons before the team moved to WHL and is regarded as one of the best coaches in SJHL history. Terry also had a successful coaching career in the NHL with a number of teams.

The Estevan Bruins organization is honoured to have this chance to recognize these very deserving inductees this season.

This event will correspond with the 2012-2013 Estevan Bruins awards banquet, which will also be handed out that evening.

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: