Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Ice Duo Makes College Commitments

Press Release

 Two Indiana Ice players have recently secured their college hockey futures as forward Jacob Pritchard has committed to St. Lawrence University and defenseman Matt Roy has committed to Michigan Tech University.

Pritchard has collected seven points (4g, 3a) and a plus-three rating over nine games for the Ice this season.  Two of his goals this season have been game-winners.  He scored his first USHL goal during the third game of the season for Indiana, a 5-3 loss to Team USA, and then followed up the next night with a three-point performance (2g, 1a), including the game-winning goal, in the 4-1 win over Team USA.

The 18-year-old from Macomb, Michigan first broke into the USHL during the 2011-12 season playing two games for the Youngstown Phantoms.  He then played four games last season for Team USA.

Five other current USHL players are committed to St. Lawrence University; Michael Marnell (Des Moines Buccaneers), R.J. Gicewicz (Green Bay Gamblers), Ryan Lough (Green Bay Gamblers), Kyle Hayton (Sioux City Musketeers), and Nolan Gluchowski (Tri-City Storm).

St. Lawrence is a member of the ECAC and has 10 USHL alumni on the roster this season; Eric Sweetman (Youngstown Phantoms), Gavin Bayreuther (Fargo/Cedar Rapids), Woody Hudson (Chicago/Indiana), Drew Smolcynski (Chicago/Indiana), Brian Ward (Tri-City Storm), Chris Martin (Indiana Ice), Gunnar Hughes (Waterloo Black Hawks), Patrick Raley (Chicago Steel), Justin Bruckel (Lincoln/Cedar Rapids), and Alexander Dahl (Youngstown Phantoms).

Roy has dished out two assist and a posted an even plus/minus rating over five games this season for the Ice.  He first appeared with Indiana last season and recorded three points (1g, 2a) in 10 games of USHL action.

Seven other USHL players are committed to Michigan Tech; Mark Auk (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Dylan Steman (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Jake Jackson (Des Moines Buccaneers), Brett Boeing (Dubuque Fighting Saints), Tristan Rostagno (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Joe Schuldt (Sioux Falls Stampede), and Joel L’Esperance (Tri-City Storm).

Michigan Tech is a member of the WCHA and has 13 USHL alumni on the roster this season; Pheonix Copley (Des Moines/Tri-City), C.J. Eick (Green Bay Gamblers), Ryan Furne (Green Bay Gamblers), Tyler Heinonen (Chicago/Muskegon), David Johnstone (Indiana Ice), Jacob Johnstone (Sioux Falls/Green Bay), Tanner Kero (Fargo Force), Chris Leibinger (Waterloo/Muskegon), Blake Pietila (Team USA), Dan Sova (Waterloo Black Hawks), Reid Sturos (Omaha Lancers), Max Vallis (Omaha Lancers), and Cliff Watson (Sioux City Musketeers).

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: