Thursday, January 28, 2010

Two Ice Forwards Commit to Miami University

Press Release

Indiana Ice forwards Bryon Paulazzo and Blake Coleman have committed to play collegiate hockey at Miami University following their USHL careers.

Paulazzo currently leads the Ice in scoring with 30 points (10g, 20a) through 35 games. He also ranks seventh overall in the USHL with a plus-19 rating and was named to the 2010 USHL All-Star Game. The 20-year-old from Redwood City, California registered a six-game point streak from December 19th to January 14th which included a four-assist game in the 6-3 win over Des Moines on the 14th.

Coleman has tallied five points (3g, 2a) in 11 games for Indiana since being acquired from the Tri-City Storm. In 33 total games this season, he has collected 17 points (5g, 12a). In just his third game with the Ice, he scored two goals in the 5-3 win over Chicago on New Year's Eve. The 18-year-old native of Plano, Texas is playing in his first USHL season.

Paulazzo and Coleman join current Ice teammates Shane Berschbach, Max Cook, and Alex Wideman who have also committed to attend Miami University. Two other USHL players, Cody Murphy (Tri-City Storm) and Tyler Biggs (Team USA), will also play collegiate hockey at Miami.

Located in Oxford, Ohio, the Miami University RedHawks are a member of the CCHA and finished last season as the NCAA Final Four runner-up. The RedHawks have 16 former USHL players on the roster this season; Carter Camper (Lincoln Stars), Pat Cannone (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Joe Hartman (Indiana Ice), Garrett Kennedy (Indiana Ice), Vincent LoVerde (Waterloo Black Hawks), Andy Miele (Chicago Steel), Jarod Palmer (Tri-City Storm), Cameron Schilling (Indiana Ice), Steve Spinell (Fargo Force), Gary Steffes (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Patrick Tiesling (Sioux Falls Stampede), Matt Tomassoni (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Trent Vogelhuber (Des Moines Buccaneers), Will Weber (Chicago Steel), Chris Wideman (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), and Tommy Wingels (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders).

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: