Tuesday, July 5, 2011

SIJHL commissioner and referee-in-chief recognized at HNO AGM

Press Release

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – Two key members of the Superior International Junior Hockey League were recently recognized during the awards ceremony held in conjunction with the Hockey Northwestern Ontario Annual General Meeting staged in Thunder Bay.

HNO, the Hockey Canada governing body of amateur hockey in the region, acknowledged the efforts of Ron Whitehead, SIJHL president and commissioner, with their Central Zone volunteer of the year award.

Also, Gary Nistico, the league’s referee-in-chief, was also honoured by HNO and presented their most deserving official award.

The two Thunder Bay natives were recognized for their tireless efforts and long time involvement with the SIJHL as well as supporting junior A hockey across the region.

Also earning accolades at the HNO AGM were Ryan Johnson of Kenora, a linesman in the SIJHL, who picked up the most improved official honour while Jim Fowler was recognized with the Western Zone volunteer award for his off-ice efforts with the Fort Frances Lakers and minor hockey in that community.

A final honour saw the SIJHL champion Wisconsin Wilderness be presented their banner to signify the team being HNO branch Jr. A champions for the 2010-11 season.

(Nathan can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: