Friday, December 21, 2012


Press Release

HELSINKI, FINLAND – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League (CHL), announced Friday that forward Charles Hudon of the QMJHL’s Chicoutimi Saguenéens will not be able to play for Canada’s National Junior Team at the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship due to an injury. Hudon will be replaced by forward Mark McNeill of the WHL’s Prince Albert Raiders.

McNeill, from Edmonton, Alta., has represented Canada at the 2011 IIHF World U18 Championship in Crimmitschau and Dresden, Germany and also played for Team Pacific at the 2010 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in Timmins, Ontario. McNeill was a first round selection, 18th overall by the Chicago Blackhawks at the 2011 NHL Entry Draft.

McNeill will join the team in Finland on Dec. 22, while Hudon will return to Canada on Dec. 23.
Canada’s National Junior Team will play a final pre-competition game Saturday against Sweden in Helsinki at 9am ET/6am PT.  The game will be broadcast on TSN and RDS. Check local listings for the time in your area.

Canada will open the 2013 IIHF World Junior Championship on December 26 against Germany at 4:30am ET/1:30 am PT.

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: