Thursday, November 12, 2009

Russia's Roster for the Subway Super Series

Press Release

TORONTO, Thursday, November 12, 2009 – The Canadian Hockey League today announced the roster for Team Russia that will compete in the 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series beginning Monday November 16 in Drummondville, QC.

Last season, 13 Russian players that competed in this event won the bronze medal at the 2009 World Junior Hockey Championships with a 5-2 win over Slovakia in Ottawa, ON, including OHL Rookie of the Year Evgeny Grachev of the Brampton Battalion and QMJHL Rookie of the Year Dmitri Kulikov of the Drummondville Voltigeurs.

Returning from the bronze medal team from last season is Kirill Petrov, a third round selection of the New York Islanders in the 2008 NHL Entry Draft. Also competing throughout the series for Team Russia this season is forward Sergey Ostapchuk who scored 63 points in 61 games as a member of the QMJHL’s Rouyn-Noranda Huskies last season. In goal, Igor Bobkov is an Anaheim Ducks prospect selected in the third round of the 2009 NHL Entry Draft who backstopped Russia to a silver medal as the top goaltender at the 2009 World Under-18 Hockey Championships. Team Russia head coach Vladimir Plyuschev led Russia to silver at the 2009 World Under-18 Hockey Championships last April.

Team Russia (Club):

Andrey Ankudinov (Salavat Yulaev, Ufa)
Anton Burdasov (Traktor, Cheljabinsk)
Sergey Chvanov (Severstal, Cherepovets
Denis Golubev (Ak Bars, Kazan)
Danil Gubarev (Traktor, Cheljabinsk)
Georgy Guryanov (CSKA, Moscow)
Maxim Karpov (Mechel, Cheljabinsk)
Maxim Kitsyn (Metallurg, Novokuznetsk)
Sergey Ostapchuk (Lokomotiv, Yaroslavl)
Kirill Petrov (Ak Bars, Kazan)
Stanislav Soloyev (Traktor, Cheljabinsk)

Georgy Berdyukov (SKA, Sankt-Petersburg)
Evgeny Eremenko (Kristal, Saratov)
Maxim Gorechishnikov (Mechel, Cheljabinsk)
Pavel Lukin (Lokomotiv, Yaroslavl)
Egor Martynov (Mechel, Cheljabinsk)
Sergey Pakhmurin (Kristal, Saratov)
Nikita Pivtsakin (Avangard, Omsk)
Kirill Yuryev (Lada, Togliatti)

Igor Bobkov (Metallurg, Magnitogorsk)
Alexander Zalivin (Dynamo, Moscow)

Head Coach – Vladimir Plyuschev
Coach – Alexander Kitov
General Manager – Alexey Kochetkov
Doctor – Ivan Radysh
Physiotherapist – Oleg Kuchenev
Equipment Manager – Igor Ostapchuk

In addition to these Team Russia players, six Russian CHL Import Players including three from the OHL, two from the QMJHL, and one from the WHL will compete in various games of the 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series within their regional league.

Forward Dmitri Kugryshev of the Quebec Remparts and defenceman Dmitry Kostromitin of the Rouyn-Noranda Huskies will compete in both QMJHL games. Through 21 games with the Remparts this season, Kugryshev has 20 points in his second season with the club while Kostromitin has 14 points in 23 games with the Huskies after playing last season with the Montreal Juniors.

QMJHL Games Only:
Dmitry Kostromitin (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)
Dmitri Kugryshev (Quebec Remparts)

Alexander Burmistrov of the Barrie Colts was the 12th overall pick in the 2009 CHL Import Draft and has 25 points in 19 games and will compete in both games in Ontario. 17-year-old forward Ivan Telegin leads all OHL rookies in scoring with 24 points in 19 games and will compete in Windsor. Between the pipes, goaltender Ramis Sadikov who has a record of 3-3-0-1 with the Erie Otters will join Team Russia. All three players are eligible for the 2010 NHL Entry Draft.

OHL Games Only:
Alexander Burmistrov (Barrie Colts)
Ramis Sadikov (Erie Otters)

Windsor Game Only:
Ivan Telegin (Saginaw Spirit)

Forward Misha Fisenko of the Calgary Hitmen will also compete for Team Russia in Victoria on Wednesday November 25. Fisenko has 12 points in seven games and competed with Team Russia in the event last season as a member of the Vancouver Giants.

Victoria Game Only:
Misha Fisenko (Calgary Hitmen)

The Subway Super Series is an important part of the selection process for both Russia and Canada’s National Junior Team before their final evaluation camps for the 2010 World Junior Hockey Championships held this winter in Saskatoon and Regina. Canada will be competing for a record sixth straight gold medal while Russia has medaled in each of the past five tournaments with two straight bronze medal victories.

The 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series is supported by CHL associate sponsors, Bank of Montreal, NeilMed, and CCM, and will be broadcast nationally on Rogers Sportsnet with the two QMJHL games on RDS.

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: