Monday, February 4, 2013

2013 VIJHL Wild Card Playoff Game and 2013 VIJHL Award Ceremony

Press Release

Where:    Bear Mountain Arena
When:      02/17/13 - 1:30pm puck drop
Who:        Campbell River Storm vs Kerry Park Islanders

Why:  This year at the AGM the League voted to have a one game show down where the lowest seed from each Division would have an opportunity in a “Wild Card Game” to get into the VIJHL’s Playoffs.

Cost:  $10 Entry

What’s at Stake:   The winner of this game will compete as the fourth seed in the North Division.


Allowing the top eight teams to compete in the VIJHL Play-offs is a way for our teams coaches to utilize there full roster throughout the season. The pressure on our clubs coaches is less significant in the regular season; therefore they are encouraged to play everyone…. We feel this is good for development!

End Result:

The VIJHL goal and purpose is the development of our players’ coaches and officials. Primarily the bulk of our young men who are fortunate to move up go on to the BCHL, some even end up in the WHL and we are also starting to see players offered scholastic opportunities in the British Columbia Intercollegiate Hockey League.   


Immediately Following the Game is our On Ice Red Carpet Presentation:

VIJHL Awards Ceremony

The annual league awards are to be announced and will be present to this years recipients immediately following the game.

The following list of League Awards will be handed out:

Andy Hebenton Trophy - Regular Season League Champion
Brent Patterson Memorial Trophy  -  League Playoff Champion
Grant Peart Memorial Trophy  -  Most Disciplined Team

Eddie 'The Storm" Kingston Award  -  Coach Of The Year
Chek 6 - King and Haysom Award  -  Broadcaster Of The Year
Doug Morton Trophy  -  League Scoring Leader
Brian Harrison Award  -  League’s Top Forward
Jack Kingston Memorial Trophy  -   Top Defenseman
Ray's Sports Centre Trophy   -  Top Goaltender
Jamie Robertson Memorial Trophy  -  Most Sportsmanlike Player
Walt MacWilliams Memorial Trophy -  Unsung Hero
Larry Lamoureaux Trophy -  Rookie of the Year

Jamie Benn Trophy -  League Most Valuable Player

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: