Saturday, February 2, 2013

Nelson Commits to Minnesota State University, Mankato

Press Release

The Fargo Force announced that forward Jordan Nelson has committed to play college hockey at Minnesota State University, Mankato beginning next season.

Nelson has suited up for all 40 games for the Force this season and is fifth on the team in scoring with 26 points (15g, 11a).  Three of his goals have been game-winners, tied for the team lead, and he has also posted a plus-10 rating.  The 20-year-old recently put together a seven-game point streak which began with his first USHL career hat trick in the 4-1 win against Omaha on January 4th.  Nelson produced 10 points (7g, 3a) over the point streak and helped the Force compile a 6-1-0 record during that span.

It is the second USHL season for the native of Williston, North Dakota who recorded 18 points (7g, 11a) and plus-four rating in 53 games last year.  Nelson was selected by the Force in the first round (9th overall) of the 2011 USHL Entry Draft.

Six other current USHL players also have plans to play hockey Minnesota State University, Mankato; Carter Foguth (Muskegon Lumnberjacks), Luca Frigo (Omaha Lancers), C.J. Franklin (Sioux Falls Stampede), Zeb Knutson (Sioux Falls Stampede), Eli May (Tri-City Storm), and Mike Huntebrinker (Waterloo Black Hawks).

Minnesota State University, Mankato is a member of the WCHA and has 14 USHL alumni on the Mavericks roster this season; J.P. Burkemper (Fargo/Des Moines), Tyler Elbrecht (Omaha Lancers), Chase Grant (Fargo Force), Eriah Hayes (Waterloo Black Hawks), Zach Lehrke (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Corey Leivermann (Fargo Force), Eli Zuck (Tri-City Storm), Zach Palmquist (Waterloo Black Hawks), Max Gaede (Sioux City Musketeers), J.P. LaFontaine (Green Bay Gamblers), Matt Leitner (Fargo Force), Brett Stern (Green Bay Gamblers), Dylan Margonari (Youngstown Phantoms), and Stephon Williams (Waterloo/Sioux Falls).

In addition, the Mavericks are coached by Mike Hastings, the all-time coaching wins leader in USHL history with 529 victories he accumulated in 14 seasons behind the bench of the Omaha Lancers (1994-2008).

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: