Monday, February 21, 2011


Press Release

The Nipawin Hawks Hockey Club and the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League have announced the three players that will represent the team in year-end awards at the end of the season. The announcement of what players have been nominated by the team was made today as the SJHL’s President Tour presented by Source Embroidery-Yorkton made a stop in Nipawin. The President’s Tour is a chance to promote the upcoming SJHL playoffs and to show off the Credit Union Cup and the SJHL Sask-Tel Showcase of Awards.


Most Outstanding Player – Tanner Dusyk

You won’t find many 18 year old captains in the SJHL, but Tanner is one and its not hard to see why. The Saskatoon product has a great work ethic and an extreme determination that has made him a team leader right from the start of the season. Considered a defensive forward, Dusyk goes into the week having scored 32 points in 41 games. Its because of players like Dusyk why the Hawks feel as if they have a team capable of winning a Credit Union Cup in a couple of years time.

Most Outstanding Defenceman – Scott Bollefer

In a year of transition in which the Hawks have seen many defencemen come in and out of the organization, Bollefer has been a constant. The 2nd year player from Lake Lenore is one of the most under-rated players in the league and is seen as a building block for the future while helping teach the younger players about what is needed to be successful on a game to game basis.

Top Rookie – Eli Lichtenwald

The 1992 born forward from Saskatoon put a smile on Coach Doug Johnson’s face right from day one. He has been an offensive force all year and has quickly garnered the respect of his teammates who rewarded that respect by awarding him one of the assistant captain roles. Lichtenwald has scored 20 goals in his first SJHL season and its expected that he will be one of the SJHL’s top players by the time his career is finished.

These three players will join the nominees from the 11 other SJHL teams for year-end awards. Those awards will be announced shortly after the end of the regular-season.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: