Tuesday, February 15, 2011

MJHL announces award nominees

Press Release

Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The respective winners will be announced later this week.

The finalists are:

MVP - Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Award
Shane Luke Dauphin Kings
Jason Kasdorf Portage Terriers
Matt Krahn OCN Blizzard

Defenseman - Brian Kozak Trophy
Paul Bonar Winnipeg Blues
Chris Delalande Selkirk Steelers
Clark Bzczynski Swan Valley Stampeders

Rookie - Vince Leah Trophy
Brent Wold Portage Terriers
Bryn Chyzyk Dauphin Kings
Brett Pinkerton Waywayseecappo Wolverines

Hockey Ability & Sportsmanship – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy
Joel Ridgeway Selkirk Steelers
Ryan Marshall Swan Valley Stampeders
Shane Luke Dauphin Kings

Top Goaltender Trophy
Joey Rewucki Selkirk Steelers
Jason Kasdorf Portage Terriers
Matt Krahn OCN Blizzard

Coach of the Year – Portage Terriers “ Muzz McPherson” Award
Scott McMillan OCN Blizzard
John Marks Winkler Flyers
Blake Spiller Portage Terriers

(Nathan can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: