Sunday, February 20, 2011

MJHL Award winners announced

Press Release

Dauphin Kings’ captain Shane Luke is a double award recipient after the Manitoba Junior Hockey League announced its major award winners today.

Luke, 20, is the MJHL’s MVP (Steve "Boomer" Hawrysh Award), in addition to winning the Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship (Lorne "Windy" Lyndon Trophy) award. Currently, he’s leading the MJHL point’s race with 25 goals and 83 points after 56 games. He’s the defending scoring champion, capturing the Mike Ridley Trophy last season.

Luke’s hockey future is also bright. He’s committed to Providence Friars where he’ll join former King captain Steve Shamanski.

“All the award winners should be extremely proud of themselves,” MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis said today. “All of the award winners were selected based solely on votes made by the coaches of our league.”

Other award winners:

Rookie of the Year - Vince Leah Trophy

Bryn Chyzyk, Dauphin Kings

Chyzyk, 18, has enjoyed an outstanding rookie season, reflected in 22 goals and 64 points after 57 games.

Top Goaltender

Matt Krahn, OCN Blizzard

Krahn, 19, has been a major reason the Blizzard have 31 wins and are within striking distance of first-place Portage Terriers in the Sher-Wood Division. Krahn currently has a 14-15 record and 2.08 GAA after 29 games. He also suited up with Team West at the World Junior A Challenge held earlier this season.

Top Defenseman - Brian Kozak Trophy

Clark Bzczynski, Swan Valley Stampeders

The 19-year-old native of Brendenbury, Sk., has been outstanding along the blueline, and also has an offensive flare reflected in 37 points (9-28) after 50 games.

Coach of the Year - Portage Terriers "Muzz McPherson" Award

Scott McMillan, OCN Blizzard

This award is named after colourful Murray “Muzz” McPherson, who led the Portage Terriers to a Centennial Cup championship in 1972-73. McPherson would be impressed with the outstanding coaching performance of McMillan, who is in his second MJHL season.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: