Thursday, November 3, 2011


Press Release

CALGARY, AB – The Canadian Hockey League in association with the Western Hockey League and the Moose Jaw Warriors and Regina Pats Hockey Clubs today announced roster additions to Team WHL that will compete against Team Russia in the 2011 SUBWAY® Super Series. Team WHL will face Team Russia in games five and six of the series played Wednesday, November 16 in Regina, SK, and on Thursday, November 17 in Moose Jaw, SK. The first two games of the series are hosted by the QMJHL with the OHL hosting games three and four.

Due to injury, Everett Silvertips Team Captain and top NHL Prospect Ryan Murray will be unable to participate in this year's event and has been replaced by Edmonton Oil Kings rear guard Griffin Reinhart for the game in Regina. Also added to the Team WHL roster to compete in Regina is the Kelowna Rockets' Brett Bulmer and Zach Franko, along with Kamloops Blazers' Colin Smith. For the final game of the 2011 SUBWAY® Super Series in Moose Jaw, Team WHL has added the Edmonton Oil Kings' Michael St. Croix and the Moose Jaw Warriors' Cody Beach to the roster.

The 2011 SUBWAY® Super Series will take place November 7 – 17 and marks the ninth straight year that teams of CHL All-Stars have competed against Team Russia in preparation for the World Junior Hockey Championships. The SUBWAY® Super Series is an integral part of the evaluation process prior to Team Canada’s final selection camp in December. This season, Canada will be competing for their 14th straight medal at the 2012 tournament in Calgary and Edmonton, Alberta.

The Team WHL roster now consists of 34 players – two goalies, 11 defenceman and 21 forwards. Top NHL prospects for the 2012 NHL Entry Draft Matt Dumba (RD), Morgan Reilly (MJ), Griffin Reinihart (EDM) and Colton Sissons (KEL) will compete in the series. Team WHL also features three first round draft picks from the 2011 NHL Draft, Duncan Siemens (SAS), Mark McNeill (PA) and Joe Morrow (POR). Moose Jaw Warriors forward Quinton Howden is the sole returning player from Team Canada’s 2011 silver medal team at the World Junior Championships and was selected in the first round of the 2010 NHL Entry Draft.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: