Friday, June 21, 2013


Press Release

 The Ontario Hockey Association [OHA] held its 124th Annual General Meeting this past weekend in Niagara Falls, Ontario and this year’s event was attended by more than 200 delegates.

“This meeting in Niagara Falls continued a tradition that has existed for over a century of the OHA getting together to discuss the game, ways to make it better and to celebrate our successes over the past year,” said chairman Leo Lostracco.

The meeting was concluded at the Sheraton on the Falls Saturday after two days of dialogue about issues impacting junior hockey in Ontario. The meeting included a review and presentation on Tomorrow’s Game standard operating procedures project, a youth mental health initiative, OHA Awards including the Gold Stick and Crystal Pucks as well as the election of their Board of Directors for 2013-14.

The OHA’s 2013 AGM included the governing body’s board of directors, officers, life members, team delegates and representation from OHF member partners. The membership was given a special greeting by the Chairman of Hockey Canada, Jim Hornell.

Life Member Don Yeck from Belmont, was awarded the OHA Gold Stick (pictured - OHA CEO Scott Farley, left - Don Yeck, middle - Leo Lostracco, right - photo courtesy of the OHA), the association’s highest honour. Also recognized were the 2013 Crystal Puck Award winners:

-Terry Dunford – Lakefield
-Bernie Shantz – New Hamburg
-John Simmons – Mount Brydges

OHA Officers for 2013-14:

-Leo Lostracco (Welland)– Chairman
-Wayne Schnabel (Ridgetown)– Vice Chairman
-John Kastner (Stratford)– Junior Chairman
-Tom Strauch (St. George)– Senior Chairman
-John Kopinak (Mitchells Bay)– Past Chairman

OHA Directors for 2013-14:

-Brad Grant (Milton)
-Larry Keenan (Chatham)
-Bill Markle (Toronto)
-Gary Moroney (Aurora)
-Bruce Schlitt (Guelph)
-Trevor Tinney (Campbellford)

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: