Sunday, August 30, 2009

Boston Rookie Camp roster

Press Release

BOSTON, MA - Boston Bruins General Manager Peter Chiarelli announced today the 24-man rookie roster that will participate in the team’s rookie camp in Kitchener, Ontario. The team will depart Boston for Kitchener on Saturday, September 5 and return on Thursday, September 10. The team will play three games total, one each against the Toronto Maple Leafs, Ottawa Senators and Pittsburgh Penguins.

The travel roster includes the eighth overall pick in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft, Zach Hamill, and three members of the Bruins ’09 NHL Draft Class, as Ryan Button (third round, 86th overall), Lane MacDermid (fourth round, 112th overall) and Tyler Randell (sixth round, 176th overall) will all skate in the camp. The Bruins first round pick in the ’09 draft, Jordan Caron, will not participate due to injury.

Other recent draft selections making the trip are: Max Sauve (2008, second round), Mike Hutchinson (2008, third round), Jamie Arniel (2008, fourth round), Alain Goulet (2007, sixth round), Jordan Knackstedt (2007, seventh round) and Levi Nelson (2006, sixth round).

Rounding out the travel roster are players acquired through trades or free agency Jeffrey LoVecchio, Matt Marquardt, Rob Kwiet, Scott Fletcher, Matt Dalton and Adam Courchaine and rookie camp invitees Chris DeSousa, Jason Lawrence, Taylor MacDougall, Jason Wilson, Mark Isherwood, Peter Stevens, Marc Zanetti and Brad Good.

The full roster breakdown by position can be found below along with the camp schedule.

The Bruins rookies will have limited media availability on Saturday, September 5 starting as early as 8:30 a.m. at Ristuccia Arena in Wilmington, MA, following their off-ice testing. Members of the media should note that due to the testing and tight travel schedule, all rookies may not be available.

Director of Hockey Operations and Player Development Don Sweeney will be available to the media at approximately 10:15 a.m. on Saturday, September 5 at Ristuccia Arena in Wilmington.

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: