Sunday, August 23, 2009

Wenatchee Will Host 2010 Robertson Cup

Press Release

The North American Hockey League (NAHL), has announced that the Wenatchee Wild has been selected to host the 2010 Robertson Cup Championship Tournament, which will be held from May 3-8, 2010 at the Town Toyota Center in Wenatchee, Wash.

We couldn't be happier to bring our league championship to Wenatchee next season," said NAHL commissioner Mark Frankenfeld. "Since its inception, the Wild has established itself as one of the NAHL's premier organizations, both on and off the ice, and we have no doubt it will host a tournament to remember."

Named the NAHL Organization of the Year in its inaugural season of 2008-09, the Wild averaged an attendance of 2,714 per game, and totaled 78,719 fans, both of which topped the League.

"Being chosen to host the Robertson Cup Championship is a real treat for our fans and the entire Wenatchee community," said Wild president Bill Stewart. "We're looking forward to showcasing our city and its hospitality to all of the visiting teams, scouts, fans and families."

The five-team Robertson Cup Championship crowns the NAHL's playoff champion (USA Hockey's Tier II Junior A national champion). As the host team, the Wild will receive an automatic bid to the 2010 tournament.

The oldest junior hockey trophy in the United States, the Robertson Cup is named in honor of Chuck Robertson, a pioneer of junior hockey in the NAHL and youth hockey in the state of Michigan. Robertson was the owner of the Paddock Pools Saints when they won a record seven straight NAHL championships from 1976-83.

This past season, the St. Louis Bandits won their third straight Robertson Cup Championship, which was hosted by the North Iowa Outlaws.

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: