Thursday, February 18, 2010

AJHL Announces 2009-2010 League Award Finalists

Press Release

February 16th, 2010 – The Alberta Junior Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2009-2010 AJHL League Awards. Two finalists from each division were selected by the League General Managers and Coaches. The 2009-2010 AJHL Award Winners will be announced on Tuesday, February 23rd, 2010.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists are as follows:

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

Cody Kunyk – Sherwood Park Crusaders
Branden Gracel – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
John Dunbar – Calgary Canucks
Lee Reimer – Canmore Eagles

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy

Matthew Register – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Brad Stebner – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Quinn Sproule – Okotoks Oilers
Frank Carbonaro – Olds Grizzlys

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy

Dillon Simpson – Spruce Grove Saints
Markus Gerbrandt – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Sam Brittain – Canmore Eagles
J R Baird – Calgary Canucks

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

Nate Fleming – Spruce Grove Saints
Zahn Raubenheimer – Grande Prairie Storm
Corey Campbell – Olds Grizzlys
Brad Drobot – Calgary Royals

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

Travis Rolheiser – Spruce Grove Saints
Jesse Kallechy – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Sam Brittain – Canmore Eagles
Sean Cahill – Okotoks Oilers

* The Top Goaltender Award will be awarded to the goaltender who demonstrates the greatest all-round ability in the position throughout the season. In past seasons, the award was designated for the goaltender with the lowest goals against average.

Coach of the Year

Steve Hamilton – Spruce Grove Saints
Gord Thibodeau – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Jeff Peters – Calgary Royals
Andrew Milne – Canmore Eagles

The awards listed above will be determined through voting by the AJHL General Managers and Coaches. In addition, the following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2009-2010 AJHL Regular Season.

* Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
* Top Team Goaltenders – Reebok / CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
* Stewy Stewart Memorial - Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy

The 2010 AJHL Enerflex Cup Playoffs will commence on Thursday, February 25th, 2010. The top seven teams in each Division will make the 2010 AJHL Playoffs. The first place team in each Division will receive a bye during the best-of-five First Round Divisional Playoffs. (2 vs. 7, 3 vs. 6, 4 vs. 5)

(Nathan also is a writer for Maineiacs Post to Post and the Maine Hockey Journal. He can be reached at

No comments: