Saturday, June 15, 2013

Saints Forward Commits to University of Denver

Press Release

 Dubuque Fighting Saints forward Evan Janssen has committed to play collegiate hockey beginning next season at the University of Denver.

The 20-year-old collected 23 points (10g, 13a) and posted a plus-nine rating in 51 regular season games for the Saints to help them finish with the best record in the USHL and capture the Anderson Cup.  Dubuque acquired the forward in the seventh round of the 2012 USHL Entry Draft.  The Green Bay, Wisconsin native saved some of his best hockey for the playoffs and he was a key contributor for the Saints run to the Clark Cup title.  He produced six points (4g, 2a) and a plus-five rating over 11 postseason contests, including two goals in the series-clinching Game Five vs. the Youngstown Phantoms on May 4th to send the Saints to the Clark Cup Final series.

Janssen joins Dubuque teammate Dylan Gambrell who is also committed to the University of Denver, and follows his head coach Jim Montgomery who was recently named head coach at the school.  Ten other USHL players from this past season are committed to Denver; Landon Smith (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Ray Pigozzi (Chicago Steel), Tyler Pham (Indiana Ice), Brad Hawkinson (Lincoln Stars), Connor Chatham (Omaha Lancers), Matt Van Voorhis (Sioux Falls Stampede), Garrett Gamez (Tri-City Storm), Trevor Moore (Tri-City Storm), Will Butcher (Team USA), and Jared Fiegl (Team USA).

The University of Denver had 17 USHL alumni on the roster this past season; Chris Knowlton (Des Moines Buccaneers), David Makowski (Green Bay Gamblers), Jarrod Mermis (Lincoln/Sioux City), Paul Phillips (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Nick Shore (Team USA), Josiah Didier (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), Daniel Doremus (Sioux Falls/Tri-City), Ty Loney (Youngstown Phantoms), Scott Mayfield (Youngstown Phantoms), Juho Olkinuora (Sioux Falls Stampede), Matt Tabrum (Omaha/Sioux Falls), Zac Larraza (Team USA), Dakota Mermis (Green Bay/Team USA/Lincoln), Nolan Zajac (Omaha/Cedar Rapids), Garrett Allen (Des Moines/Chicago/Fargo), Quentin Shore (Team USA), and Grant Arnold (Green Bay Gamblers).

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: