Monday, November 25, 2013

Four new members will be inducted into the QMJHL Hall of Fame

Press Release

BOUCHERVILLE, Monday November 25, 2013 - The commissioner of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, Gilles Courteau, unveiled today, the names of the four new inductees that will make their way into the QMJHL Hall of Fame – presented by RDS on Wednesday April 2nd, 2014 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Montreal.

Three players and one official will be honoured. “We will recognize four important figures in our history during the evening” said the commissioner. “We will have the pleasure of celebrating the careers of Gerard Gallant, Jean-Luc Phaneuf, Normand Caisse and Patrice Brisebois. I would like to thank the members of the QMJHL Hall of Fame – presented by RDS, selection committee: Michel Côté (president), Denis Baillargé, Michel Gagnon, Albert Ladouceur, Bertrand Raymond and Marc Lachapelle for their excellent and continuous contribution to this precious institution.”

The president of the selection committee, Michel Côté, also added: “There are so many worthy candidates, that choosing is always very difficult. However, we rigorously analysed each candidate and believe that we have made the right choices. All four individuals had excellent careers in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and fully deserve this honour. We are looking forward to inducting them into the Hall of Fame.”

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: