Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Bucs Hall of Fame Class Announcement Saturday

Press Release

(Urbandale, IA) The Des Moines Buccaneers have a rich history stretching 34 seasons with hundreds of players who have played over the years and with each playing a role in the team’s enviable tradition. Though some become a footnote in an old program in a dusty attic, many more leave fond memories in the minds and hearts of the fan base and it’s from that pool that a few select players not only are remembered but revered.

This upcoming Saturday night March 15, during the second intermission of the Buccaneers’ 7:00pm game versus Omaha, the franchise will be proud to induct five new members into the team’s Hall of Fame. Each inductee will have a personalized plaque on display for one year and have their name permanently on display at Buccaneer Arena on the Hall of Fame board in Blackbeard’s Lounge.

The induction ceremony will include at least two pre-recorded acceptance speeches.

Hall of Fame members are selected by a volunteer committee of fans who base their selection on a player’s accomplishments while with the Buccaneers and not necessarily on collegiate and professional success. Though the two usually go hand in hand, not all National Hockey League alumni are in the Hall of Fame while a number of players who never played pro have been selected. It’s all based on what a player did to impact the Buccaneers’ organization.

The Buccaneers’ Hall of Fame was dormant for more than a decade with no new inductions until it was revived prior to the 2012-2013 season. Last year five inductees were added including Scott Purpur, Scott Owens, Peter Fregoe, Peter Sejna and Trevor Lewis.

To be considered for the Hall of Fame a player must be done with the Buccaneers for at least five seasons. Coaches may also be considered, but while previous committees selected non-hockey operations personnel  the modern committee has chosen to bypass them at the moment so as to catch up on deserving players/coaches.

Including non-hockey personnel is not out of the question for future seasons.

Not counting the inductions this Saturday, the Hall of Fame currently has 25 members:
 Jamie Adams  Player
 Reggie Berg  Player
 Beau Bilek  Player
John Blue  Player
Scott Clemmensen Player
Dave Cooper  Player
Paul Erickson  Player
Bob Ferguson  Coach
Brad Frattaroli  Player
Peter Fregoe  Player
Don Geiger  Board Member
Curt Hammer  Board Member
Nick Krueger  Player
Scott Krueger  Player
Trevor Lewis  Player
Marc Magliarditi  Player
Bob Nardella  Player
Scott Owens  Coach
Ivan Prediger  Coach
Scott Purpur  Player
Mike Real  Player
Eric Rud   Player
Kelly Sanner  Fan
Peter Sejna  Player
Daryl Seltenrich  Player

Any fan interested in being a part of the selection process for 2015 should contact Scott Montesano at the 278-2827 ext. 7027 or scott@bucshockey.com.

  (Nathan can be reached at nathanfournier@mainehockeyjournal.com)

No comments: