Friday, February 21, 2014

Black Hawks forward commits to University of Minnesota

Press Release

 Waterloo Black Hawks forward Tyler Sheehy has committed to play collegiate hockey at the University of Minnesota following his USHL career.

Sheehy has been one of the team’s top scorers, putting up 32 points (14g, 18a) in 31 games this season.  He has produced multi-goal efforts on three occasions this season, including two-goal games in back-to-back contests in mid-December.  Two of his goals have been game-winners and he has produced a plus-17 rating which is currently tied for the 20th best mark in the USHL.  He first played for the Black Hawks during the 2011-12 season, playing seven games, before appearing in five games last season and scoring his first USHL goal.

The 18-year-old is gaining attention from NHL scouts as he was ranked #150 among North American skaters in the midterm rankings by NHL Central Scouting in advance of the 2014 NHL Draft.

Playing at the University of Minnesota will be a bit of a homecoming for the forward who is a native of Burnsville, Minnesota.  Sheehy is joined by three other current USHL players who are also committed to the school; Steven Johnson (Omaha Lancers), Ryan Collins (Team USA), Jack Glover (Team USA).

The University of Minnesota is a member of the newly-formed Big Ten Conference and has long looked to the USHL to fill its roster.  A total of 22  USHL alumni are playing for the Gophers this season; Seth Ambroz (Omaha Lancers), Jake Bischoff (Omaha Lancers), Travis Boyd (Team USA), Michael Brodzinski (Muskegon Lumberjacks), Taylor Cammarata (Waterloo Black Hawks), Nate Condon (Fargo Force), Hudson Fasching (Team USA), Gabe Guertler (Fargo Force), Justin Holl (Omaha Lancers), Christian Isackson (Sioux Falls Stampede), Justin Kloos (Waterloo Black Hawks), Vinni Lettieri (Lincoln Stars), Ben Marshall (Omaha Lancers), A.J. Michaelson (Waterloo Black Hawks), Kyle Rau (Sioux Falls Stampede), Connor Reilly (Sioux Falls Stampede), Ryan Reilly (Sioux Falls Stampede), Tom Serratore (Youngstown/Sioux City), Michael Shibrowski (Des Moines Buccaneers), Brady Skjei (Team USA), Sam Warning (Cedar Rapids RoughRiders), and Adam Wilcox (Tri-City/Green Bay).

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: