Friday, February 21, 2014

Selkirk Steelers win four of six MJHL awards: Thomas named MVP

Press Release

Selkirk Steelers have dominated this year’s MJHL awards, winning four of six categories. Steelers’ veteran Parker Thomas, 20, has been named league MVP, topping the list of winners.

Thomas, who hails from Winnipeg, has been awarded the Steve "Boomer" Hawrysh Award, given annually to the MVP winner. The award was doubly special for Thomas, who was a runner-up for MVP last season.

Thomas will soon be adding another trophy to his collection ─ MJHL scoring championship. After 53 games, he has 32 goals and 93 points.

“All the award winners should be extremely proud of themselves,” MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis said today. “All of the award winners were selected based on voting by the coaches of our league.”

Runners-up were Zack Waldvogel of the Portage Terriers and Tyler Grove of OCN Blizzard.

Rookie of the Year - Vince Leah Trophy

Tyler Jeanson, Portage Terriers

Jeanson, 16, has enjoyed an outstanding rookie season, reflected in 21 goals and 40 points in 55 games. A native of Graysville, Mb (west of Carman), Jeanson was also named to the MJHL all-rookie squad.

The runners-up were Jackson Keane, Winnipeg South Blues and Carter Johnson, Swan Valley Stampeders.

Top Goaltender

Braeden Ostepchuk, Selkirk Steelers

Ostepchuk, 20, has been outstanding this season, reflected in a 35-8 record, 1.95 GAA, 93.3% Save % and 6 shutouts. For two consecutive months (November/December) the Lethbridge native was named the league’s top goaltender.

Runners-up were Adam Iwan, Virden Oil Capitals and Zach Rakochy, Steinbach Pistons.

Top Defenseman - Brian Kozak Trophy

Joel Messner, Selkirk Steelers

Messner, a 19-year-old from Lorette, has been outstanding along the blueline, playing a key role in the Steelers’ outstanding season. In addition to his standout defensive play, he’s also shown to have an offensive flare reflected in 50 points (9-41) in 50 games.

Runners-up were Channing Brescianni of Winnipeg Blues and Tanner Butler, Dauphin Kings.

Hockey Ability – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy

Max Flanagan, Swan Valley Stampeders

Flanagan, 20, hails from Edmonton and has been a major contributor in the Stamps’ offensive attack, reflected in leading his team’s points’ race with 36 goals and 65 points in 57 games.

The runners-up were Justin Valentino, Dauphin Kings and Warren Callis of Winnipeg Blues.

Coach of the Year - Portage Terriers "Muzz McPherson" Award

Ryan Smith, Selkirk Steelers

This award is named after colourful Murray “Muzz” McPherson, who led the Portage Terriers to a Centennial Cup championship in 1972-73. McPherson would be impressed with the outstanding coaching performance of Smith, whose Steelers’ won the Addison Division pennant.

Under Smith’s guidance, Steelers were as high as 3rd overall in the CJHL rankings.

Runners-up were Troy Leslie of Virden Oil Capitals and Blake Spiller, Portage Terriers.

 (Nathan can be reached at

No comments: