Tuesday, February 21, 2012

2012 Marcel-Robert Trophy finalists revealed

Press Release

The names of 17 candidates and 5 finalists for the Marcel-Robert Trophy, which will be presented at the Golden Pucks Gala on April 4th, were released today.

Each player selected receives a $400 scholarship. The five finalists will receive an additional $400 scholarship and the winner will be awarded, in addition to the Marcel-Robert Trophy, a $500 bursary.

“Each team submitted a lengthy file for their candidate and choosing five finalists was very difficult,” said Natacha Llorens, Director of the Players Support Program, Anti-doping & Education Services. “All candidates had excellent academic records. The efforts being made by our organizations to better the academic success of our student-athletes are growing every year and the results speak for themselves. I want to congratulate all the candidates who were selected.”

The finalist’s selection committee is composed of four members of the QMJHL administrative office: Claude Benoist, Natacha Llorens, Marcel Patenaude and Denis Arsenault along with the former recipient of the Marcel-Robert trophy (2002-03), Éric L’Italien.

List of team candidates

Acadie-Bathurst, Sébastien Trudeau
Baie-Comeau, Alexandre Chênevert
Blainville-Boisbriand, Alex Micallef
Cape Breton, Jonathan Brunelle
Chicoutimi, Dominic Poulin
Drummondville, André Bouvet-Morrissette
Gatineau, Rock Régimbald
Halifax, Luca Ciampini
Moncton, Patrick Delisle-Houde
PEI, Josh Currie
Québec, Vincent Barnard
Rimouski, Jean-Philippe Mathieu
Rouyn-Noranda, Steven Mercier
Shawinigan, Michaël Bournival
Saint John, Kevin Gagné
Val-d’Or, Thierry Comtois
Victoriaville, Yanni Gourde

List of the 5 finalists
Cape Breton, Jonathan Brunelle
Moncton, Patrick Delisle-Houde
Rimouski, Jean-Philippe Mathieu
Shawinigan, Michaël Bournival
Victoriaville, Yanni Gourde

Each candidate must now go through an arduous interview process which will measure their analytical skills and their understanding of current events. Their performance during the interview will also play a key role. The interviews will be held in Montreal on Monday, February 27th and will be conducted by the members of the Marcel-Robert Committee.

This year’s committee members are: Éric L’Italien, President of the committee and former recipient of the award; François Giroux, Director of the Information-Communication Program and Professor at Moncton University; Andrée-Anne Barbeau, Journalist and host at Canal VOX; Amélie Desaulniers, Sponsorship and Event Marketing Strategy Director with TELUS, the QMJHL’s major partner, and Sébastien Fyfe, General Manager of Alliance Sport-Études.

(Nathan can be reached at fourniern@students.nescom.edu)

No comments: