Sunday, February 19, 2012

MJHL Award winners named: Coach of the Year and Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship

Press Release

Don MacGillivray, one of the winningest coaches in the Manitoba Junior Hockey League, has been named winner of the Coach of the Year Award.

The GM/head coach of the Winnipeg Blues was presented with the “Muzz” McPherson Memorial Trophy by MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis.

One of MacGillivray’s players, Derek Gingera, was presented the Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Trophy, which is awarded to the league’s winner of the Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award

MacGillivray, who earlier this year recorded his 500th career win in the MJHL, was a leading force in turning around the fortunes of the Blues, who sit sit second in the MJHL’s Addison Division. Blues missed the playoffs last year.

Gingera, who hails from Winnipeg, is the Blues’ leading points getter with 42 goals and 70 points in 50 games. His disciplined play on the ice is reflected in only 28 penalty minutes.

The coach of the year award trophy is named in honour of Murray “Muzz” McPherson, one of the most colourful coaches ever in the MJHL. McPherson, who died in 1997, helped guide the Portage Terriers to the 1972-73 Centennial Cup ─ now known as the RBC Cup. McPherson also coached the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds, who had a future NHL hall of famer in its lineup – Wayne Gretzky.

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: