Wednesday, February 22, 2012

SIJHL Best Defensive Forward Award

Press Release

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that Sam Dubinsky of the Thunder Bay North Stars has been named the SIJHL’s best defensive forward award recipient for the 2011-12 season.

The North Stars team captain edged out Jesse Linner of the Dryden Ice Dogs, Henry Gutierrez of the Fort Frances Lakers and Andrew Anderson of the Wisconsin Wilderness to claim the honour in voting done by the league’s seven-member clubs.

This marks the second straight year Dubinsky has been recognized with individual accolades having won the SIJHL’s most improved player award in 2010-11.

Now in his fourth campaign skating for the North Stars, the 20-year-old Thunder Bay native has amassed 104 total points in 168 career games, including 37 goals.

Dubinsky becomes the sixth member of the North Stars organization, all-time, to be recognized as the league’s best defensive forward.

The following are the SIJHL’s all-time best defensive forward recipients:

2011-12: Sam Dubinsky, Thunder Bay North Stars
2010-11: Blake Boaz, Fort Frances Lakers
2009-10: Ryan Magill, Fort William North Stars
2008-09: Cale Brown, Fort William North Stars (Co-winner)
2008-09: Mitch Cain, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres (Co-winner)
2007-08: Travis Jaspers, Fort William North Stars
2006-07: Jason MacMillan, Thunder Bay Bearcats
2005-06: Jordan Chong, Dryden Ice Dogs
2004-05: Matt Tryuba, Dryden Ice Dogs
2003-04: Cory Bruno, Fort William North Stars
2002-03: Tom Grant, Fort William North Stars
2001-02: Josh Baxter, Borderland Thunder (Co-winner)
2001-02: Tom Grant, Thunder Bay Bulldogs (Co-winner)

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: