Wednesday, September 1, 2010


Press Release

August 3, 2010, Toronto, Ontario– The Ontario Junior Hockey League officially released their 2010-2011 regular season scheduleand conference alignment today. The 31 OJHL teams will play a 50 game schedule, with two games being played at the annual Governors Showcase weekend that will take place in Aurora October 7-11, 2010. The OJHL season will start on September 9, 2010 and end on February 13, 2011.

“The OJHL is very excited about the upcoming season with all the developments that have taken place over the summer”, stated Ted Nishi, OJHL Chairman. “It has been an extremely busy summer for the league with the contraction process the league invested in this summer that has taken the league from 36 to 31 teams, the league coming back as one united group, the hiring of our first full time Commissioner, the new ownership with the Newmarket Hurricanes and the ongoing development of a new internal structure for the league.” Nishi stated. “All these are steps the league had to take to get us moving in the direction that will set us up for one of the most exciting seasons to date.”

The 31 OJHL hockey clubs will compete in two conferences and four divisions. Teams will only play games within their own conference with the majority of games to be played within divisions;

South-East Conference

East Division – Cobourg, Kingston, Lindsay, Peterborough, Pickering, Trenton, Wellington, Whitby

South Division – Dixie, North York, St. Michael’s, Streetsville, Toronto, Upper Canada, Vaughan, Villanova

North-West Conference

North Division – Aurora, Collingwood, Huntsville, Markham, Newmarket, Orangeville, Stouffville

West Division – Brampton, Buffalo, Burlington, Georgetown, Hamilton, Milton, Mississauga, Oakville

(Nathan can be reached at

No comments: